Pan Dulces Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
these have a great texture and flavor, so much fresher than store bought. I made these and they were gone in no time.I used about 4-41/2 cups of flour as others suggested the only problem I had was spreading the topping as others suggested, it flattened them out some next time I will try crumbling it over the tops instead.great recipe, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
These were great. The bread had that awesome sweet, doughy flavor, and the topping added a nice sweet crunch. I was impatient and hungry so I didn't let the dough rise for a full 40 minutes the second time around, and instead of putting them on 2 sheets I put them on one cookie sheet. I put a lot of topping on each roll as there was plenty to go around, and baked them for 23 minutes before they were browned. Delicious! Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
All of the tips the others gave were extremely helpful, thanks everybody. My Pan came out perfect and was gone that same day. No more Mexican Bakery for me. This is the real deal. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I live in Mexico and this bread is very authentic. I've made it 2 times, the first time I used all the flour and they turned out more like biscuits. The 2nd time I used 4 cups and didn't knead it as long, they turned out perfect. This bread needs the topping to be real pan. But forget crumbly, make it pasty and spread it on. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
AS DORA WOULD SAY....DELICIOSO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Very good bread. I liked the topping more than anything. I don't understand why one of the reviewers said white & pasty, perhaps she used egg "whites" instead of egg "yolk" as instructed. My bread topping was a nice golden color with just a bit of crunchy sweetness that made the bread excellent. It was awsome straight out of the oven. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
These were good, though I didn't make the topping (warned off by previous reviews). They weren't as sweet as I'd hoped, though, so when they came out of the oven I brushed them with a combination of melted butter, water, and sugar. I also tried putting a Hershey kiss inside, and those turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
I made the dough in my bread machine, and only used 4 cups flour (I had the 5th on hand in case the dough was too sticky) but it was just fine. If anything you probably could use 3 3/4 cups flour for a better texture, they were a little dense. I only put the topping on a few since I wasn't sure if we'd like it. I'm glad I did, because the topping never got crispy brown. It just stayed the nasty white color and are a little tough. The ones that I left plain looked really nice like dinner rolls. My husband thinks they are pretty good, we both agree on 4 stars. We're pretty picky with out rolls though, this is a really good recipe (minus 1 cup flour) and I may make this again since it was pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This is a nice sweet bread that has a great taste and texture. I simply made it into dinner rolls w/o the topping, it was delicious. I'll definitely make this a keeper and I'll probably use it again for christmas morning. This time I'll make the topping for it. The advice the other users had was helpful. I may try to put some coco powder in the struesel for a different variety or maybe some type of jam filling in the center of the bread before I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
It was delicious!! I loved it i did not put the crumbs on top though.. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States