Pan Dulces Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I love this recipe. I went to college in New Mexico and missed these SO MUCH! A quick tip is if you are trying to watch your weight. Instead of making 16 buns cut it again to make 32 little rolls. Then you get all the yummy in smaller doses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Yum!!! I made these for my daughter to take to school for a brunch party, and they turned out so well it was hard to let them go! Not too dense, not too airy, but just right! I was grateful for my bread maker machine dough cycle making this a bit easier. I used 4 1/2 c. flour like some other reviewers recommended, and chose to whisk the dough by hand instead of using my electric mixer. For the topping, I added a couple tablespoons of cocoa powder. It turned out like a paste with the yolks added. Rather than using the rolling pin, I pinched off and hand-rolled the dough into little balls, about golf ball size, and placed them on parchment paper on the baking pan. They waited on the pan under cover for 40 minutes like the instructions said but they did not rise much. Really loved how these turned out. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCaro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I found this recipe when helping my son with a project. They were a huge hit at home and school. I've started making them for the family. The changes I made was to add a tsp of vanilla to the topping to make it pasty, and to make 32 smaller buns rather then 16 large buns. These were still the size of a regular bagel so that was fine by me. As a tip make the topping first, spoon it onto plastic wrap, roll it into a log and chill while making the dough. Then slice into small rounds with a hot, wet knife and place them onto the buns before baking. Saves a lot of time this way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
These are wonderful. Followed advice of others and used only 4c of flour. Used the dough cycle on the bread machine to minimize effort. Wow, are they Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made these for the first time last year and they were awesome!! I've tried 5 times since yesterday and have been unable to get the dough to rise. Finally "proofed" the yeast separately-- hope that was the trick. It's covered and I'm hoping it dies the first rising. If not, I won't give up-- I just may wait a while to try it again. They're definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
My husband is a full blooded Mexican and he just loves these. I only gave it four stars because of the topping. There was simply no way to "crunble" it over the bread. I ended up patting it into ovals and placing a "disc" on each bun. Next time I will omit the egg and see if that works better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Juliana's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This was my 1st time making this and it turned out yummy! Last time i baked bread i used the conchas recipe(on allrecipe.com) and my bread turned out hard and small. Instead of making 16 little dough balls, i made 8. They turned out the same size as the ones that you would get at a mexican bakery would make them.(Mexican portions). I also notice that people say that their bread turned out hard..its because they bake small little dough balls for 20mins.over cooking=hard bread.. You should double the size and still cook them for 20mins. If your bread isnt rising well then crank up the oven to 400 for one min. turn it off, put the dough in the warm oven &let it rise(40mins) while you are making the sugar topping. I followed the recipe exactly(used 4c.flour and 1c.flour while i was kneading it for 10mins) and i added 1/3c. brown sugar to make the bread a bit more moist They turn out amazing and the aroma will sure make your neighbors mouth water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
the bread was yummy but my topping did not turn out like the picture mine was clumpy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Fantastic dough, easy to work with and very smoothly textured. Scalding the milk first certainly helps keep the dough from being sticky, however, it also could make it easy to kill the yeast if it does not cool properly. I too used my bread machine which made this so much easier. I also substituted higher gluten flour for the all-purpose flour, as I would in any roll/bread application. The topping is different, but delicious on these delicately flavored rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hillsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pulaski, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
After cooling (and savoring that first one off the pan!) I slip each roll into a separate sandwich bag and then freeze. When you want one, just pop a bag into the microwave and hit defrost. You'll have a warm, soft treat with your coffee.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States