Pan Dulce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
I have been searching for this recipe. There is a trick to keeping the dough soft...(dont over knead it) I had used it for my family for years. It actually comes out like fresh pan dulce from the mexican markets. Just need to add a lil love to it to perfect it. It isnt too sweet... afterall it isn't a doughnut that you are making nor is it like American sweetbread. But if you are looking for an authentic tasting pan dulce this one is it. Happy baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This turned out great. My family loved them. They do take time and you have to put an effort forth for them to turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
These are amazing! With a little effort, they come out perfectly. I've been making these for my Spanish class and they're a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I love the chocolate ones. Growing up my mom would make them once a year. This recipe is found in the the Sunset Mexican Cook Book published in the 70's. If using a bread machine try 4 1/4 - 4 1/2 cups of flour instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
This wasn't the recipe I was looking for I thought it would be better. The dough seemed a little to hard to work with and not much flavor. Maybe I didn't make it correctly, but it sure was a mistake either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
This recipe isn't all what I expected. Try the recipe with the name Pan Dulces, that one is definitely way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIVEBRIGS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I wouldn't make these again at all. I don't know if the instructions weren't very clear or what happened. I followed the directions to the T and it was just not happening. I bake breads and cinnamon buns all the time so I thought this would be a breeze. I was wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babydollmisfit
Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States