Pan De Sal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by LadyWilCook
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Wow! I was very impressed. A Pan De Sal recipe that actually tasted like Pan De Sal! The whole family loved it... especially my Mom. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
My kids love this recipe! Very authentic recipe. I'm going to try to use whole wheat flour next time. I chose this recipe because of the simple ingredients. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNLCARTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Evans, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
my kids love it, i just feel that something is missing, it's kinda hard too i want my pan de sal crunchy outside but soft inside, i follow the recipe what did i do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I loved this recipe. My mom is filipina and I never watched her when she cooked when I was younger. Now that I'm married, I'm trying to keep food from my herritage in our lives and this recipe tastes as good as mom use to make. I did take some advise from other comments and added the 2/3 cup of sugar instead of the 1/3. I also added the 2tsp of salt instead too, just for that extra flavor for the rolls. Thanks so much for this recipe and I know I'll be calling mom soon to let her know what new recipe I learned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This is almost the same as how my friend made hers in Alaska.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Anna the Baker
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
My first attempt and it was perfect! I was expecting it to be really dense and hard but it came out soft and nice. It tastes a little bland but I think that's how authentic pan de sal should taste like. Perfect with a slice of cheddar cheese -- my all time favorite Filipino breakfast! *JUST A TIP: Make sure that the water is warm to the touch, not boiling hot. Otherwise, the yeast will die & the bread will not rise at all. Thanks for the recipe Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Thanks Michelle! I've used this recipe 3 times in the last 5 weeks and I just can't have enough. The crust was crispy and the inside just airy enough but not too dense. Tastes really good. This very much resembles what is known as "putok" pan de sal in the Philippines. I freeze cooled pan de sal so 1 recipe lasts a week. I just grab however many I need from the freezer and put it straight in the toaster oven (no thawing!)on low to medium heat for 5-7 minutes and it's like having fresh baked pan de sal everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whimzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I grew up eating pan de sal, but now live in an area where it's unheard of. So, I was so excited when I found the recipe here, hoping that it would fufill my cravings. This recipe came reeeaallllly close, but didn't taste EXACTLY like the pan de sal I'm used to - and to me, pan de sal is pan de sal - meaning that I've never had one that didn't taste like another; This didn't fill the spot, however again, it was close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
overall the bread was good, but did not taste like the pan de sal i had growing up. it seemed like it was missing something and was more like a plain dinner roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
very nice recipe! i had to double the amount of sugar though to make it sweeter. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Azalina’s Mint Chicken Curry

A Malaysian native shares her secret recipe for spicy chicken curry.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States