Pan De Sal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I love this recipe. It taste like the pan de sal in the Philippines. I shaped this one too big though and had to bake it for more than 20 minutes. Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I never had real Pan de Sal before (like some of the other reviewers) but I loved these as is! They were so easy to put together, baked up with a nice crisp crust and soft insides! Very delicious and I will definitely be making more of these in the future. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mamabaker37
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
this tastes like the pandesal my sisters and I ate for breakfast in the philippines when we were little. This is very good. I rolled mine in breadcrumbs before baking. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I gave it a 4 only for the BLAND taste. I used my own yeast starter as well and it came through as far as flavor goes but even with salt, sugar, salted butter, its just sooooo BLAND, no real flavor at all! but the texture,everything else is perfect. the igredients are proportinate to what your end result is. thanx, but will definitely tweak for my own taste!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
My wife always craves for pan de sal and we have to drive 30 miles just to get them pre-packed and cold so I was glad to find this recipe online. My wife and kids loved it so much...I've made this 10 times in 2 months...no kidding! Here are the additions/changes I made to the original recipe based on other reviews and to suit our tastes: replace 1/4 cup of vegetable oil with 2 tbsp of butter and 2 tbsp vegetable oil; add 4 egg yolks (yes, no whites); 1 cup of sugar; 2 tsps salt; 1 pack or 2 1/4 tsps of active dry yeast and cut in logs about the size of 1 large AA egg. If you want your pan de sal dense, just let the logs rise for about 30mins to 1 hour. The longer you let it rise the less dense or softer the pan de sal gets. I let it rise for as long as 2 hours. If you want it brown or crunchy on top, lightly spread the top of the logs with vegetable oil. When the vegetable oil drips to the sides of the logs, that's too much and it will burn the bottom of the bread. Sprinkle some bread crumbs over the vegetable oil to make it more authentic. It takes a long time to prepare this but it's worth it... I like it that I can make something my wife really loves. Enjoy! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Made these with no changes to recipe. We get our Pan De Sal from a local Oriental market and they get it from a bakery in Jersey. Not exactly fresh by the time it gets to us here in VA. The aroma hit my Filipino hubby "before" he got to the door of our home. I just wish you could have seen his smile when he saw these rolls on our table!! Many, many thanks for sharing. These will also grace our table when family comes to share Easter dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Wonderful recipe!! First time I ever made dinner rolls and they turned out perfect. Everyone went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wainwright, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I tried to make this recipe three times and failed each time. I did exactly what the recipe directed and it did not work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAANA34

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
With a few alterations, these came out like the pan de sal I'm used to eating. I followed the advice of previous reviews, using 2/3 c sugar, 2 tsp salt, and sprinkling the tops with bread crumbs before baking. I actually read the measurement for the yeast incorrectly, so I ended up putting in 2 T of yeast rather than 2 tsp, but the bread didn't turn out "yeasty" like I feared (so no worries). Very good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is a yummy recipe. I do agree with gotoheller on the addition of extra sugar and salt. The directions are a bit misleading though. The recipe states rolling dough in a 1/2 inch diameter rope, I found that impossible to do. It then states to cut the 1/2 inch rope in 1/2 inch pieces. That will give you tiny rolls. You need to divide the 1dough 1/4's into 7 rolls. to obtain 30 rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ek14580

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Azalina’s Mint Chicken Curry

A Malaysian native shares her secret recipe for spicy chicken curry.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States