Pan De Sal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is more a 3.5 stars. Mine turned out with a hard crust all around. I actually liked the hard crust, but it wasn't what I was looking for in a pan de sal. Followed directions exactly, maybe bake at a lower temperature? I might try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
4 and half star very good , i increase the salt and sprinkle with bread crumbs, good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Good basic recipe.I followed the other reviewers and used 2/3 c sugar and 2 tsp salt. Due to the higher amount of sugar, let dough rise for one hour before forming into a log and cutting into 2 inch pieces. Roll in bread crumbs and place on baking sheet cut side up. Let rise for another hour before baking in 375 F oven for 18-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
The recipe says to cut into 1/2 inch pieces, and I doubted it but decided to follow the directions exactly..The bread was so tiny I think a mouse would be offended! It was about the size of the quarter. (I took them out much earlier since they're tiny.) So use your judgement and cut it bigger. Pan de sal is a little bland, but not this bland. It didn't taste like it at all. I think different regions have different pan de sal, because ours aren't crispy, they're slightly denser and crumbly and sweeter. We're from Pampanga. I don't understand why it says to knead 10 minutes, because my dough was smooth and elastic by 5 minutes. I don't think I'll make this again, it didn't even taste better than a regular dinner roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Amazing!! Great dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastman, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Thanks for this wonderful pandesal recipe. I tried them and they were really delicious. Tastes like home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CELIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
thanks so much for sharing! this was really easy. i added more sugar to make it sweeter. my whole family loved it. this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Great recipe. The bread was light and perfect. I used bread flour and followed another reviewer by using one cup of sugar. I followed another recipe by coating it with evaporated milk and sprinkling on bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Absolutely wonderful recipe- easy to follow and is authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIAELAINE
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I halfed the recipe and it made 32 pcs. I like the texture but I agree with the others that the sugar was not enough and left them bland. I did not have bread crumbs but they came out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Azalina’s Mint Chicken Curry

A Malaysian native shares her secret recipe for spicy chicken curry.

Beef on Weck, Part 1: Kummelweck Roll

See how to make delicious freshly baked kummelweck rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States