Pan De Sal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
it was ok, taste is good if following previous reviewer's additions of salt and sugar. Mine didn't rise as well in the short period of time, however, and when cooled, it was quite hard :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe and saved me from a baker's meltdown. The pan de sal was just how I remembered them from the Philippines. Light and sweet with a texture that beats all yeast rolls. What else can I say except that they were gone within ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minus

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
If you're looking for authentic tasting pan de sal this is not the recipe to follow. The buns produced in this recipe were quite dense even after 2 rises, I much prefer a lighter bun. Perhaps I messed it up somehow. Overall they were decent but I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
The texture of these rolls was great; a thin crispy crust with a tender and airy interior. I made only half of the recipe and didn't top them with breadcrumbs, but with an egg wash. I will add more sugar and salt for more flavor next time, like other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My grandparents owned a bakery in the Phillipines and this recipe, with a couple of adjustments, produced a wonderful tasting delight that brought me back in time - just need a brown paper bag to enjoy them in now! I took the advice of the previous reviews and added 1/3 cup of sugar and tad more salt. My girlfriend and I tested the oven temp and adjusted baking it at 360 degrees for 17 minutes. We had tried following a recipe book but it was nowhere near the pan de sal I remember, aroma and all! Plus there is no bakery in south Orange County. All that is missing is queso de bola during the holidays or maybe some longganiza as my GF suggested...too tasty! Next time, we will shield the bottom to provide an even heat for both the top and bottom. Enjoy! And be patient with the rise times :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is more a 3.5 stars. Mine turned out with a hard crust all around. I actually liked the hard crust, but it wasn't what I was looking for in a pan de sal. Followed directions exactly, maybe bake at a lower temperature? I might try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
4 and half star very good , i increase the salt and sprinkle with bread crumbs, good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Good basic recipe.I followed the other reviewers and used 2/3 c sugar and 2 tsp salt. Due to the higher amount of sugar, let dough rise for one hour before forming into a log and cutting into 2 inch pieces. Roll in bread crumbs and place on baking sheet cut side up. Let rise for another hour before baking in 375 F oven for 18-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
The recipe says to cut into 1/2 inch pieces, and I doubted it but decided to follow the directions exactly..The bread was so tiny I think a mouse would be offended! It was about the size of the quarter. (I took them out much earlier since they're tiny.) So use your judgement and cut it bigger. Pan de sal is a little bland, but not this bland. It didn't taste like it at all. I think different regions have different pan de sal, because ours aren't crispy, they're slightly denser and crumbly and sweeter. We're from Pampanga. I don't understand why it says to knead 10 minutes, because my dough was smooth and elastic by 5 minutes. I don't think I'll make this again, it didn't even taste better than a regular dinner roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Amazing!! Great dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastman, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Azalina’s Mint Chicken Curry

A Malaysian native shares her secret recipe for spicy chicken curry.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States