Pan De Sal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I love the recipe. The 2/3 cup of sugar and 2 teaspoons of salt hits the spot. I knew that in my first try that I've done something wrong (killing the yeast). The second and nth times, aawww, so yummy. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k.enriquez
Photo by Heuristic
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I made them for dinner, they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heuristic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
mainly for reference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I use canned evaporated milk for HALF of the water, and sprinkle the formed buns with the crumbs from an old batch of pandesal. The sugar doesn't have to change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Excellent recipe. Simply delicious and authentic. I tried this recipe 5 times in the last two weeks and and never tired of liking it. I varied the amount of sugar to 2/3 cups as recommended by those people who reviewed it earlier, it was good, really taste authentic like in the Philippines, as the Filipinos love sweet food but not me. I tried to reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup instead and it was perfect to my liking. My family loved it too, especially when it is served with Philadelphia cheese spread on it. The technique I think to make it softer on the inside is to let the dough rise by having it sit for 4 hours rather than 1 hour after you have cut the dough into pieces. I prepared the dough before sleeping at night and when I woke up in the morning the cut dough pieces have all risen, and when I cooked it it was crispy on outside and very soft in the inside. The bread crumbs make it all look authentic. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I do not have to miss the pandesal from the Philippines again as I know now how to make it. And for all reviewers, than you for imparting your comments that helped me make good pandesal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emencha2
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I made these today. It's my first time making pan de sal and I loved the taste! .. and so did my family! I used warm water with the yeast, 2/3cup sugar and 2tsp salt. I let the dough rise longer than called for because I forgot about it. I cut them into bigger pieces. They taste good cold too! GREAT RECIPE, THANKS SO MUCH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I have tried several recipes for pan de sal, and they were all good but too dense and heavy for my taste. I love this recipe. It really does taste and look like the pandesal I used to buy in the Phils. It's economical too cuz it doesn't call for eggs or milk, which what makes other recipes heavier and more dense. I freeze my pandesal and warm them up in my ovenette and they are as soft inside as when they were freshly made! Thanks to the person who shared this! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
well i literally just finished baking them and for some reason it's hard...does not even look close to looking like pan de sal...it smelled pretty good though...i followed the recipe exactly as given....but failed...i'm a bit disappointed i'm not sure what i've done wrong...it is still edible though...it kinda tasted a bit like sourdough...i may give it another try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This recipe was great; especially with the revisions made by other reviewers. I made mine with 3 cups all purpose flour and 2 cups whole wheat flour. Still turned out great! Just a note... This is typically eaten for breakfast and not dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
These were great! I used the 2tsp salt & 1 cup sugar, used 4TBSP unsalted butter rather than veg oil. My only problem was that when rolling out into logs that were 1/2 in in diameter, I ended up with teeny tiny rolls. I let the dough rise for 2 hours but only let the cut rolls rise for 10 min so we'll see how the next batch goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessy0419

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Azalina’s Mint Chicken Curry

A Malaysian native shares her secret recipe for spicy chicken curry.

Beef on Weck, Part 1: Kummelweck Roll

See how to make delicious freshly baked kummelweck rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States