Pan de Muertos (Mexican Bread of the Dead) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
this bread turned out very tastey! I had trouble shaping the bones, but I don't have a lot of dough practice. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Not too hard and really delicious--definitely let it rise the full suggested time, since I didn't and had to back it twice as long as it called for and it was still a little doughy in the middle. But I also quadrupled the recipe... Great flavor, and the glaze was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
As a Spanish teacher I have often purchased this bread at a panaderia (Mexican Bakery). I decided to cut costs and make it myself this year, using the recipe. It had the authentic taste, and the dough was easy to work with. In fact, the Mexican janitors at school came by after school to see if I had any left-overs. Now THAT'S a successful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Like many other reviewers, I don't normally go for anise/licorice flavors. But since everyone here had only good things to say, I gave it a shot! It is very delicious! The anise is noticeable, but not in a bad way. If you eat the bread right away, it is like having a fresh yeast doughnut! It isn't the sort of thing I normally like, but I can totally see myself making this every now and then. I will certainly be making this for next year's Day of the Dead celebration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Absolutely the Best! My spanish class had to make this, and this recipe was totally delicious. You really can taste the Aniseed without it eing too overpowering and the orange-sugar glaze really compliments the sweetness of the bread. It was nice and soft inside, but it had a firm crust and didn't burn. Five Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessitlv
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Perfect pan de muertos my whole family loved. I doubled the recipe and gave one loaf to my Mother-in-Law. The only thing I changed was I used anise extract instead of seeds. I shaped the loaves into a skull and crossbones and used whole cloves for the teeth. Very cute for Halloween. We ate it accompanied with a hot mug of Mexican chocolate. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allanita
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
EASY, TASTY AND PRETTY. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allanita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This bread is really interesting. It's very dense and the flavors are quite good, but a bit dry. I baked this for about 25 minutes and will only bake for 20 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Delicious! I baked two small loafs - hoping that would help with the dryness; I also doubled the yeast (used one pkg. of yeast). If you are worried whether it is done or not, temp it - bread should be at least 190 degrees F in the center before it is pulled out of the oven. I also found that when it was warm, it was more moist. If the bread is a little dry, my husband recommends making extra glaze to dip the bread in. He couldn't get enough of the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I found this bread to be a little on the dry side. It was good bread... I will make it again, and hopefully, it will turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States