Pan de Muertos (Mexican Bread of the Dead) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by jessitlv
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Perfect pan de muertos my whole family loved. I doubled the recipe and gave one loaf to my Mother-in-Law. The only thing I changed was I used anise extract instead of seeds. I shaped the loaves into a skull and crossbones and used whole cloves for the teeth. Very cute for Halloween. We ate it accompanied with a hot mug of Mexican chocolate. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allanita
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
EASY, TASTY AND PRETTY. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allanita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This bread is really interesting. It's very dense and the flavors are quite good, but a bit dry. I baked this for about 25 minutes and will only bake for 20 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Delicious! I baked two small loafs - hoping that would help with the dryness; I also doubled the yeast (used one pkg. of yeast). If you are worried whether it is done or not, temp it - bread should be at least 190 degrees F in the center before it is pulled out of the oven. I also found that when it was warm, it was more moist. If the bread is a little dry, my husband recommends making extra glaze to dip the bread in. He couldn't get enough of the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I found this bread to be a little on the dry side. It was good bread... I will make it again, and hopefully, it will turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
this bread is great, a bit heavy but really nice. dont think about skipping the glaze though, it totally makes the bread (although a little sticky)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I used fresh orange juice for this and it turned out pretty well. It's a little different than other Pan de Muertos recipes I've tasted, but I liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDSSUNRAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Better than I expected, since I normally dislike anise seed. It seemed a little dry, though. The bread might have been better if I had put it in the refridgerator after shaping and let it finish rising and baking in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I always make our spanish teacher make this it's so good. i've had it every year since 7th grade. Oh it's so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
This was a great recipe! My friend and I made this for a party and it was huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States