Pan de Muertos (Mexican Bread of the Dead) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is now my favorite Pan de Muerto recipe! I doubled the recipe and it made two large loaves. The orange glaze was delicious. It's Excellent hot out of the oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesusitadelnorte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FLASHMAN
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
So much easier than I expected. I followed the directions and shaped the loaf into a skull. The orange glaze gave it a great look, really beautiful the way the skull seemed to glow. And it tasted great, too! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kay
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I used anise extract instead of the seeds, added a couple teaspoons of vanilla and used bread flour as opposed to all-purpose. I strongly suggest letting it rise longer than the times listed here. In the future I would increase the hydration a little as well. Note, this is not a terribly fluffy bread, and it will dry out rather quickly. Makes the kitchen smell awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I have been making Pan de Muertos for years, using different recipes, this year I both decided to use a new recipe and use my bread maker. I used the recipe with two minor changes, a little extra water no more than two tablespoons and orange extract instead of zest. Is is absolutely the fluffiest version of this bread I've ever made. In my two pound bread maker it made a nearly full sized loaf and on light setting cooked perfectly (if a little crumby on the sides).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
this bread turned out very tastey! I had trouble shaping the bones, but I don't have a lot of dough practice. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Not too hard and really delicious--definitely let it rise the full suggested time, since I didn't and had to back it twice as long as it called for and it was still a little doughy in the middle. But I also quadrupled the recipe... Great flavor, and the glaze was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
As a Spanish teacher I have often purchased this bread at a panaderia (Mexican Bakery). I decided to cut costs and make it myself this year, using the recipe. It had the authentic taste, and the dough was easy to work with. In fact, the Mexican janitors at school came by after school to see if I had any left-overs. Now THAT'S a successful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Like many other reviewers, I don't normally go for anise/licorice flavors. But since everyone here had only good things to say, I gave it a shot! It is very delicious! The anise is noticeable, but not in a bad way. If you eat the bread right away, it is like having a fresh yeast doughnut! It isn't the sort of thing I normally like, but I can totally see myself making this every now and then. I will certainly be making this for next year's Day of the Dead celebration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Absolutely the Best! My spanish class had to make this, and this recipe was totally delicious. You really can taste the Aniseed without it eing too overpowering and the orange-sugar glaze really compliments the sweetness of the bread. It was nice and soft inside, but it had a firm crust and didn't burn. Five Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States