Pan de Muertos (Mexican Bread of the Dead) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Had a good anise flavor, but the kids didn't like the hint of citrus. Probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is a light bread, kind of fluffy and tasted fine but bland. The anise is not overpowering. Pretty easy to make. To me it was like the cross between a bread and a bisquit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe, very soft, flavor and practical, but i did one only with anise and another with orange zest, cause i like to taste one by one, in mexico, we usually eat with hot milk chocolate...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Thank you Lola! I made two batches of the bread. I ommitted the anise from one and added vanilla and cinnamon. I also cut the dough into four pieces and made 8 mini loaves. They all turned out amazing! Friends and family loved them. I already got a few orders for the weekend. Lol. Thanks again for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Absolutely declicious! I made it exactly as listed and it worked perfectly! I lived in Mexico City in my teenage years, and this is the vbst pan de muerto I've tasted...my parents loved it too. Will be making more this week. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I made this for my students when we were learning about Day of the Dead. I made it in the bread machine and it came out fine. The orange and anise flavor comes through well. Must eat it quickly though as it gets stale soon. I made 2 batches and the day old one was not even close to being good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This bread is amazing. It has become a mainstay in my house. My husband askes for it constantly so I quadruple the recipe on the weekends and place the rolls on a baking sheet and freeze them. I then place them in freezer bags and keep them on hand. When I get home from work I just take out a few and place them on a pan in the oven with boiling water to let them thaw and raise. Then I bake them. TaDa, fresh baked bread even with both of us working insane hours. These rolls are worth every second of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morierea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very good. I used the half all-purpose flour and half bread flour that another reviewer had recommended. I found that I didn't need to cook it anywhere near the 35-40 minutes. I think 25-30 would have been good. Got lots of good comments on it from my Spanish class. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I love the glaze! I'm not too fond of anise, so I reduced the amount to half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I wanted to give this five stars, but I've made this a few times and tweaked the recipe to taste more authentic. Most importantly, I use a 50/50 combination of bread flour and all-purpose flour for a nice crust and tender crumb like pan dulce. Otherwise, the crumb is too cakey and dry. I also add 1/4 cup of juice to the dough and scale flour, sugar and yeast in proportion, along with an extra 1 tbsp each of zest and of anise extract (in addition to the seeds). I recently used tangerines in place of oranges for Christmas and the result was amazing - much sweeter and milder. I mix the dough and have it do the first rise in the bread machine, then I have it do the second rise on top of the preheated oven (it likes it really warm). I also found I need a much shorter baking time (only about 25-30 minutes) compared to the recipe. Overall, the recipe as written is very good, but not perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States