Pan de Muertos (Mexican Bread of the Dead) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
i've made this the last 2 years for my mother in law and she loves it. it's a super easy recipe and i usually make a medium sized loaf and 2 small loaves. the only thing i changed is using 2 1/2 cups of flour because if you use 3 full cups the dough becomes dry and a little tough. all in all i will keep making this recipe every year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Great flavor! I used whole wheat flour instead of white, and did not sprinkle with the extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I made this last year for Day of the Dead/Halloween/Samhain celebration and I think I'll make it again this year. The anise and orange flavor is not something I get everyday, and it has a dry, coffee-cake or panatone like texture and is just slightly sweet from the glaze. Good for breakfast with coffee or Mexican hot chocolate. I made it into a skull shape, poking in eye sockets and cutting a nose and teeth with scissors before I baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
OMG My daughter & I made this for a Spanish class project and it turned out AWESOME.Made two one for the class and one to eat yumo! Will make it again for sure! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Not too bad flavor wise, but it turned out a little harder than I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Very easy and delicious! Reminds me of panettone. Next November 2nd will make two loaves instead of one. It's my husband's birthday and he really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Had a good anise flavor, but the kids didn't like the hint of citrus. Probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is a light bread, kind of fluffy and tasted fine but bland. The anise is not overpowering. Pretty easy to make. To me it was like the cross between a bread and a bisquit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe, very soft, flavor and practical, but i did one only with anise and another with orange zest, cause i like to taste one by one, in mexico, we usually eat with hot milk chocolate...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Thank you Lola! I made two batches of the bread. I ommitted the anise from one and added vanilla and cinnamon. I also cut the dough into four pieces and made 8 mini loaves. They all turned out amazing! Friends and family loved them. I already got a few orders for the weekend. Lol. Thanks again for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States