Pan de Muertos (Mexican Bread of the Dead) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I made this for my students when we were learning about Day of the Dead. I made it in the bread machine and it came out fine. The orange and anise flavor comes through well. Must eat it quickly though as it gets stale soon. I made 2 batches and the day old one was not even close to being good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This bread is amazing. It has become a mainstay in my house. My husband askes for it constantly so I quadruple the recipe on the weekends and place the rolls on a baking sheet and freeze them. I then place them in freezer bags and keep them on hand. When I get home from work I just take out a few and place them on a pan in the oven with boiling water to let them thaw and raise. Then I bake them. TaDa, fresh baked bread even with both of us working insane hours. These rolls are worth every second of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morierea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very good. I used the half all-purpose flour and half bread flour that another reviewer had recommended. I found that I didn't need to cook it anywhere near the 35-40 minutes. I think 25-30 would have been good. Got lots of good comments on it from my Spanish class. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I love the glaze! I'm not too fond of anise, so I reduced the amount to half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I wanted to give this five stars, but I've made this a few times and tweaked the recipe to taste more authentic. Most importantly, I use a 50/50 combination of bread flour and all-purpose flour for a nice crust and tender crumb like pan dulce. Otherwise, the crumb is too cakey and dry. I also add 1/4 cup of juice to the dough and scale flour, sugar and yeast in proportion, along with an extra 1 tbsp each of zest and of anise extract (in addition to the seeds). I recently used tangerines in place of oranges for Christmas and the result was amazing - much sweeter and milder. I mix the dough and have it do the first rise in the bread machine, then I have it do the second rise on top of the preheated oven (it likes it really warm). I also found I need a much shorter baking time (only about 25-30 minutes) compared to the recipe. Overall, the recipe as written is very good, but not perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This bread came out great. The combination of the anise and the orange zest tasted great together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
The glaze on this bread is really good! I used anise extract because I am not too fond of the seeds, but I think I might have used too much. Be cautious if you use the extract. Other than that, I really enjoyed this bread, it is good with tea and coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
once again iam one of those students who happen to find this recipe online just so i can make pan de muerto for my spanish class for extra credit. The bread turned out to be my teacher's favorite bread all thanks to the orange glaze and the anise seeds that make the bread have a unquie taste.After baking this for my spanish class, i had to bake another loaf for my family:) the only changes that i made was 1tsp of anise seeds instead of 2..with 1tsp it makes the bread have a unquie taste without having a strong taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Photo by Mrs. Forsman
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This bread was wonderful, except for the fact that it should not be baked at 350, but at 325 for about 25-30 minutes. My first two loaves were burnt on the bottom, but the next 2 loaves were amazing! It tastes really good toasted w/butter, or as a sandwich bread. Yes, it is a bit dry so next time I might incorporate a little oj or milk in the mix. Great flavor none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Forsman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Excellent Bread. I mixed the dough in the doughmaker then let rise for 1 hour before baking in oven. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States