Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
My mother in law is German and we make this same dish all of the time. She uses the same bread recipe, however I substitue a sweet refrigerator roll recipe and make them ahead. If I have leftovers I make cinnamon rolls for dessert. I also make several ahead and freeze them for later use--just make sure they are completely thawed before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
My mother has been fixing these since I was tiny and now I've started doing the same. If you like more flavor in the filling, try adding celery seed. It really livens it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Simply fabulous. I confess, my recipe bears no resemblance to the original. I opted to use ground turkey, liberally seasoned with pepper and a garlic/salt seasoning. I made some very creamy Cheddar cheesy mashed potatoes andmixed into the browned turkey, then just for the helluva it, added some chopped steamed broccolli. filled the dough circles with this and baked and O MY HEAVENS. Family couldn't stop raving. Served with corn chowder, peanut butter cookies for dessert. All on a rainy blustery day. Thanks for the inspiration. What I made doesn't begin to be the original which I'm sure is wonderful too. But it was darned good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was perfect! i made half the recipe, with same amount of beef and did just onions instead of cabbage, i also added garlic and paprika to the beef. This came out so great, my inlaws gave me praise, and my brother in law ate two, these people are EXTREMELY hard to impress and very picky eaters so this recipe was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
My husband has been talking about these for years so I decided to try this recipe and am very glad I did. Followed fairly close to recipe but added some shredded carrots and a garlic clove or two with meat. Had extra dough so I patted it out rectangle, put a layer of butter on top, sprinkled br. sugar and cinn. on then rolled it up and sliced 1/2 in slices. put in buttered round pan and let rise 1 hr or so. 350 for 30 min. Made a vanilla glaze from this site and added some cinn to it also. Husband and son said it could use more of the Br. sugar cinn mix. Next time :)Great way to use up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
very tasty- a perfect lunch or dinner served with a cold german potato salad! The recipe sounds hard, but is actually very easy to do. The dough comes out perfectly, and I will try a different filling next time! I used fast rise yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
These were fantastic! My family is German, so I used to eat bierocks as a kid, and this is the first time since my childhood that I have eaten them. They were just as I remembered. My family loved them, even my finiky 2 year old. Thanks Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
One of the best recipes I have tried! The bread around the meat is wonderful, the meat could use a little more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I am vegetarian, so I changed the beef to Boca's "fake meat," and I added a touch of shredded cheddar. My friend's husband (as well as my own) never knew the difference! This was wonderful, and tastes exactly how bierocks should. It is also pretty simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
my mom has made these little treats for years. only she uses diced pork roast. still very delicious. even my polish husband loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forsyth, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States