Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
These were really good. The dough was easy to work with and so yummy. I added 1/4 slice of cheese on the dough before topping with beef/cabbage. I also divided into 24 pieces instead of 20 and it worked out fine (easier to cut dough into fourths and then sixths). Hubby is from Nebraska and likes his Runzas and this recipe satisfied his craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRVRBS31GAL
Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I had never heard of bierocks but we loved them. I didn't have the time to make the douhg so I used frozen bread dough instead. We loved them! I had a few leftover and froze them. My sons think they are great reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I've only made this once, but my boyfriend has been begging for it since. It's a very flavorful and relatively easy recipe - although it did take some time. I had a hard time stuffing the bread dough - that was very messy. But the end product is worth it! It makes A LOT though, I ended up freezing most of mine for future consumption (they freeze very well!). The dough was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I'm a hige bierock fan! These are very yummy! I did add more spices though (garlic, crushed red pepper & marjoram). I also added some shredded carrots. I stuff them with 3 tablespoons filling but then there was not enough filling (even with 1.5 lb ground beef). So I made some ham & cheese rolls and pig in a blanket with the leftover dough! The dough was very good but I only used 6 cups flour and baked them more like 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyrood, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This dough was wonderful. It is so easy to make and work with. I did add a little mustard to the filling. I had enough dough left to make a nice pan of cinnamon rolls. I will use this dough recipe from now on. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Very tasty. Big hit this is a recipe where you could change it up to make pizza, taco whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I absolutely love these. they are perfect if you are feeding lots of peeps. And if your not, you have leftovers which are great the next day. I add celery seed as suggested. The kids and Hubby like to dip them in honey, I like them with Dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I am lazy...I bought frozen bread dough and made these. They were really good and remind me of bierock day at the diner in a small town in Kansas where I worked. Made them a second time and used left over meat mixture from Shepherds pie. Added Swiss cheese and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Wonderful. I was surprised at how well the dough had risen in the fridge. The dough is what makes the recipe so wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Simply fabulous. I confess, my recipe bears no resemblance to the original. I opted to use ground turkey, liberally seasoned with pepper and a garlic/salt seasoning. I made some very creamy Cheddar cheesy mashed potatoes andmixed into the browned turkey, then just for the helluva it, added some chopped steamed broccolli. filled the dough circles with this and baked and O MY HEAVENS. Family couldn't stop raving. Served with corn chowder, peanut butter cookies for dessert. All on a rainy blustery day. Thanks for the inspiration. What I made doesn't begin to be the original which I'm sure is wonderful too. But it was darned good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States