Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Alright, I have been dying to review this recipe since only hours ago when I found it. I searched yeast and ground beef because it sounded good and this recipe came up, I'd never heard of such a thing before! These were just wonderful after tweeking with the filling a bit. I added the typical garlic, wors sauce, seasonings etc, and half a can of tomato soup to give it a sauciness. Very good! Next time I'm going to do a cubed pepperoni, mozzarella and sauce combo. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishkill, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I agree with many others--the dough is great! But the filling is VERY bland, even with additions--I'll need to add more additions next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is one of my favorite recipes. I usually make more of the meat mixture so that they are more meat than bread. I also add some American cheese to some or mushrooms and Swiss to give a little variety. They also freeze wonderfully and are great to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emerson, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
My family loved this! Even my very picky sons! With the leftover dough I made cinnamon rolls. The dough in this recipe is perfect. Also to change it up, make a sloppy joe mixture and use this dough, make it the same way (the meat in the dough)... Your family will LOVE it, I think the kids liked the sloppy joe version even better. If I get a chance I will post a recipe for it that way. Thank you so much Pam! This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I had never heard of Bierocks or Runzas before, but the recipe sounded good and I'm glad I tried them. These were so delicious! The dough is perfect- so soft and tasty- although I did have to add additional flour since it was quite sticky to work with at first. The recipe yielded 25 bierocks, which were gone in about 48 hours. I added some fresh thyme and parsley to the filling, but kept everything else the same. Will make these again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was good. I used frozen dough instead of making my own, but followed the rest of the recipe pretty close. It was a little bland though, and if I made it again, I think I might add in some shredded cheese to the meat mixture. Would be a five star with some tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was a really great recipe. I used 1 and 1/2 pounds of hamburger and the whole head of cabbage. Naturally this recipe is a little bland so I added garlic and other seasonings. It turned out awesome. Instead of making 20 little ones I made 10 bigger bierocks. The bread was wonderful as well. I was really surprised that it was such a simple recipe and turned out perfect. Definitly try it! Make sure you have enough time, it's a little time consuming. But well worth it and there great heated up in the microwave. We ate with mustard or gravy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Followed according to recipe and they were perfect. I'm German and from the Midwest and this recipe is the best. I'm very particular about bierocks, but these rocked! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spchjag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scandia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This review refers to the DOUGH part of the recipe only. I found the dough miserable to work with. I think the problem was the part where it says "refrigerate dough for 2 hours or let it rise for 1 hour". I chose to let it rise for 1 hour. I think it NEEDED to be cold! It tore and tore and tore again while I tried to work with it. I managed though, and it was REALLY tasty (hence the 4 stars) but in the future I'm going to knead the dough (no kneading in this recipe) before I let it rise and I'm going to make sure the dough is chilly before I start trying to force it into specific shapes! So I detract 1 star from the overall recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I messed something up and my dough did not rise. It had a good flavor, but was very flat....I'm sure it was me tho and not the recipe. I did use a package of cole slaw mix in place of the cabbage and as others suggested added some flavoring...worch sauce, paprika, and simmered it in vegetable broth. It was still lacking a little flavor, but nothing a little black/red pepper wouldn't cure. Froze the leftovers for another meal. I will be trying this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States