Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Alright, I have been dying to review this recipe since only hours ago when I found it. I searched yeast and ground beef because it sounded good and this recipe came up, I'd never heard of such a thing before! These were just wonderful after tweeking with the filling a bit. I added the typical garlic, wors sauce, seasonings etc, and half a can of tomato soup to give it a sauciness. Very good! Next time I'm going to do a cubed pepperoni, mozzarella and sauce combo. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishkill, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I agree with many others--the dough is great! But the filling is VERY bland, even with additions--I'll need to add more additions next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is one of my favorite recipes. I usually make more of the meat mixture so that they are more meat than bread. I also add some American cheese to some or mushrooms and Swiss to give a little variety. They also freeze wonderfully and are great to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emerson, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
My family loved this! Even my very picky sons! With the leftover dough I made cinnamon rolls. The dough in this recipe is perfect. Also to change it up, make a sloppy joe mixture and use this dough, make it the same way (the meat in the dough)... Your family will LOVE it, I think the kids liked the sloppy joe version even better. If I get a chance I will post a recipe for it that way. Thank you so much Pam! This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I had never heard of Bierocks or Runzas before, but the recipe sounded good and I'm glad I tried them. These were so delicious! The dough is perfect- so soft and tasty- although I did have to add additional flour since it was quite sticky to work with at first. The recipe yielded 25 bierocks, which were gone in about 48 hours. I added some fresh thyme and parsley to the filling, but kept everything else the same. Will make these again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was good. I used frozen dough instead of making my own, but followed the rest of the recipe pretty close. It was a little bland though, and if I made it again, I think I might add in some shredded cheese to the meat mixture. Would be a five star with some tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was a really great recipe. I used 1 and 1/2 pounds of hamburger and the whole head of cabbage. Naturally this recipe is a little bland so I added garlic and other seasonings. It turned out awesome. Instead of making 20 little ones I made 10 bigger bierocks. The bread was wonderful as well. I was really surprised that it was such a simple recipe and turned out perfect. Definitly try it! Make sure you have enough time, it's a little time consuming. But well worth it and there great heated up in the microwave. We ate with mustard or gravy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Followed according to recipe and they were perfect. I'm German and from the Midwest and this recipe is the best. I'm very particular about bierocks, but these rocked! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spchjag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scandia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This review refers to the DOUGH part of the recipe only. I found the dough miserable to work with. I think the problem was the part where it says "refrigerate dough for 2 hours or let it rise for 1 hour". I chose to let it rise for 1 hour. I think it NEEDED to be cold! It tore and tore and tore again while I tried to work with it. I managed though, and it was REALLY tasty (hence the 4 stars) but in the future I'm going to knead the dough (no kneading in this recipe) before I let it rise and I'm going to make sure the dough is chilly before I start trying to force it into specific shapes! So I detract 1 star from the overall recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I messed something up and my dough did not rise. It had a good flavor, but was very flat....I'm sure it was me tho and not the recipe. I did use a package of cole slaw mix in place of the cabbage and as others suggested added some flavoring...worch sauce, paprika, and simmered it in vegetable broth. It was still lacking a little flavor, but nothing a little black/red pepper wouldn't cure. Froze the leftovers for another meal. I will be trying this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States