Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
My husband loves bierocks. Have tried other recipes in the past but was never really happy with them. Decided to give a whirl again and am glad I chose this one!! I halved the recipe and still used 1 egg. It made 12, nice sized bierocks and I put 6 each in 9x13pan. I did use 1 1/2 lb hamb for the half recipe and a 16oz bag of cabbage and filled them with approx 4 T filling. Seasoned the ham/onion with garlic, celery seed & paprika (per another review) They are soooo YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Fantastic! The cabbage/ground beef mixture was the part I was most comfortable with. So I took the liberty of adding a bunch of spices (Steak seasoning, onion powder, garlic powder, lemon pepper), Worcestershire Sauce, a garlic clove and some shredded cheese. It came out great! I couldn't stop eating the filling! The bread part I was extremely nervous about. I've never made homemade bread before, but I was so pleased with how well my bread turned out! This recipe was very easy to follow! It takes time and patience, but they turned out DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
These were great!! They had very tasty flavor ( I did add a pinch or two of thyme and some bay leaves, a dash of garlic powder and doubled the onions). I also used ground turkey and cooked 1/2 the onions with the meat. I did half whole wheat flour galf white and added more like 3 heaping tbs of the mixture into the bread pouch. Served with a creamy vegetable soup and squash-delicious!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I made these for an Oktoberfest party over the weekend and they were a total hit! I did not change the recipe at all and I thought they were perfect. I am a beginner when it comes to working with dough so it did take me a few hours to make them. I also had to roll out on a floured surface as the dough was really sticky. I brushed the tops with melted salted butter, and it provided a nice salty counter to the sweet rolls. I will definitely make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I used pre-packaged Philly Steaks with the onions and cabbage. It tasted a little bland so to give the filling a little more flavor I put in a little BBQ sauce and some honey. I took the dough and flattened it into one big square and put the meat mixture in the center closed it up let it rise and then baked. Oh so good. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
my mom has made these little treats for years. only she uses diced pork roast. still very delicious. even my polish husband loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forsyth, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
The dough is super easy and tastes awesome! This was the first time I have ever made beirocks and they tasted like an expert made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was great we had enough to freeze half and have enough for 2 meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
A little bland for my taste, but I was expecting that from the style of food. I plan on trying a curry mix next time or more of a "shephard's pie" type filling! However, it was very good, loved the bread. Mine wasn't very "fluffy" but I didn't let it rise as long as the recipe said. Overall my husband and I were very happy with this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RyanandJuanita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Great recipe of a classic Volga-German dish. I like to add mustard. Sometimes I change the filling to ham and cheese or hamburger taco. These are time-consuming but freeze well and make an easy snack or meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States