Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I used this recipe as a basis for the bierocks I made. I used a pound of ground beef, and a half pound of hot sausage. I removed a little so I could sample it relatively unmolested. To the remainder I added some paprika to it, some Worcestershire, a little white wine,salt, pepper, and some MSG. It still tasted relatively flat before putting into the bread and baking it even with the extra seasoning. I can't say there was a huge difference in the fillings and I couldn't really tell you which was which once I put some mustard on it. One was slightly more savory when eating without mustard. I used 1 Pepperidge farm butter flaky crescent, 1 Pilsbury regular crescent, and 1 Pilsbury French loaf. The crescents were individual and looked neater, they tasted good. You can't get a lot of filling into them, however. Maybe a tablespoon and a half. The French Loaf I did all in one shot. I rolled it out and put a lot of filling in it. and then pinched the edges and layed them on the seam so it would hold together easier. It came out much juicier due to the increased amount of filling. If you got a 4-5" piece, it held together fine. If you are going to do this for a party or something, I think making individual serving would be the right thing to do. Overall, I loved them. I think the french bread was better than the crescents. A sweeter bread would of probably been great. I served this with horseradish mustard, curry mustard, dijon mustard, and spicy brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tera
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
We usually thaw out frozen dinner rolls and put two together with a rolling pin. It was good and all but the dough kept retracting when you were trying to fill it. This way is much better! Not only was the dough easy to manage but tasty too! I like my bread a bit sweeter so next time I will use a bit more sugar. Also we just picked jalapenos out of our garden and added it to the mix...along with more salt and spices. Mmmmmmm Mmmmmmm! Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
These were good but the meat mixture could have used more seasoning. I made half the recipe and only made one substitution in the bread dough. I sub'd half a cup of milk for half a cup of the water called for. I loved the dough, it was easy to work with and was very tasty. I will give it a try for dinner rolls, burger buns or cinnamon buns sometime. I'll make these again but will definately add more seasning to the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I loved this recipe it was so good. I added an extra half cup of sugar to my dough and kneaded my dough and then I placed it in the oiled bowl. I also added garlic onion powder and some lime juice to the cabbage and meat for flavor. Once my dough was done like 3 hours I took a quarter of it on flour and rolled it out like a quarter inch thick and grabbed a cup and punched circlesin the dough. It was super good next time I will cook them for only 18minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I usually love everything I try but this was just not our thing, my family really didn't enjoy it very much. And it was quite a time consuming dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Made almost as written. I did not have time to make the buns, so I bought some frozen grands and thawed them quickly in the oven, flattened them and then filled. I didn't cook the cabbage for a full 30 minutes, I didn't want it to get soggy or mushy. These were great, brushed with the butter after. I ate four at one time! Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superfox12082

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Walker, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I am pleasantly surprised by how tasty this is! I used some WW flour to make it a little healthy and halved the dough recipe as I wasn't prepared to make that much... Some points to note: make sure the cabbage is shredded finely, I might even dice it up so that it is easier to wrap. Also, I don't get how to actually spread the dough out on unfloured surface, as my dough stuck to the board if I don't put some flour on it. So I rolled them out on floured surface - turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Yum! These are delicious. I made exactly as written except added a tablespoon of caraway seeds to the meat mixture. The bread dough is exceptional, easy to make and very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CheeryWazel
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Awesome! We've made these 3 times now. They last for awhile since 20 are made. It's fun to experiment with fillings. One time we did a beef stew. Another time chicken, cheese, and broccoli. And then another time we did the recipe as written. We want to try a pizza filling next time. The bread is really good. We use a lot of flour to stop the dough from sticking to the surface. So we ignore the part that says use an un-floured surface. I think they turn out fine... My boyfriend puts in way more than 2 Tbs of filling. And I think they are better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheeryWazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I made these for a church pitch-in and they were very popular. They held the heat in after baking, and looked beautiful. The dough was kind of sticky after rising. I used cooking spray on my table so I could manipulate the dough easily without having to add more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States