Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I think these turned out great! I cut the recipe in half. My husband didn't like them because of the cabbage, but my other family members did. I think that I'll make this again with just cabbage and onions for me (vegetarian), and I think I'll make them for my husband without the cabbage and with some italian seasoning and mozzarella. Would be great with broccoli and cheddar or left over roast with gravy and onions. Also would be good if you flavored the dough with garlic for Italian fillings, or an onion flavor would be nice too. You could freeze these and reheat since the recipe makes so many. There are endless possiblities for fillings, but the dough turned out perfectly for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
These are just like the ones my mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
We really liked these. The only problem I had was that I could not get the dough thin enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I am vegetarian, so I changed the beef to Boca's "fake meat," and I added a touch of shredded cheddar. My friend's husband (as well as my own) never knew the difference! This was wonderful, and tastes exactly how bierocks should. It is also pretty simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
These were just okay. Recipe is a bit bland and I'm not sure exactly what is missing. I used gabbage and maybe if I used sauerkraut it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
As a child, my grandmother use to make bierocks!! I could never find a recipe that reminded me of her until I found this one. thanks Pam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
My mother has been fixing these since I was tiny and now I've started doing the same. If you like more flavor in the filling, try adding celery seed. It really livens it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
These were fantastic! My family is German, so I used to eat bierocks as a kid, and this is the first time since my childhood that I have eaten them. They were just as I remembered. My family loved them, even my finiky 2 year old. Thanks Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
I liked these alot. I did use a little butter brushed on top of them for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
One of the best recipes I have tried! The bread around the meat is wonderful, the meat could use a little more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States