Pammy's Slow Cooker Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This is the first time I've tried making any kind of beans, but I work with a few women who cook "soul food" and I wanted to give this a try - I'm brining it to work to get their feedback too. I followed the recipe exactly except that I didn't add the oil. My thinking was that I just didn't need the extra fat. It was very tasty, but bland - it needed more seasoning - especially salt/bouillon. In the end I added chicken and vegetable soup base (Better than Bouillon brand)as well as Old Bay seasoning, more pepper and more garlic and onion powder. Next time I'll add 2 smoked turkey legs and more onions and fresh chopped garlic along with the bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I loved eating beans growing up. In fact, you can't miss me when it comes to beans. As an adult I've made 3 futile attempts at making a pot of beans. I was ready to quit. I decided to search online for a recipe and VOILA! I stumbled upon this recipe. All I can say is WOW!. They turned out just the way I like them. If I can do it anyone can. I feel like an expert now. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I have made this twice on the stovetop instrad of a slow cooker. Not haviing any turkey I have used smoked sausage and ground beef instead. The ground beef combo got "rave reviews" from my family. The only change I made was adding 2 beef bouillion cubes to the pot. Delicious with mac & cheese, mashed potatoes, & Jiffy brand cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Great recipe! I used some smoked, sliced beef brisket in place of the turkey leg and fresh garlic and a large onion instead of the powders. It is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dundalk, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was tasty. I didn't have pinto beans so I used great northern beans and added a touch of poultry seasoning at the end of cooking time. I cooked it 5 hours on high and 3 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I just made this recipe and it was amazing! It was so perfect for this rainy day. The only thing I did different was that I used a package of onion soup mix instead of the onion powder. Thanks for the awesome dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe!! It's just the two of us so we had it the next day for lunch as well. Didn't have a spare turkey leg so I just fried up half a pound of bacon and added that in. Served over corn bread! will definitely make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Simple, tasty, and easy. I'm going to try Italian Sausage vs. turkey leg the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
These are awesome! Followed the recipe almost exactly. I did cut it in half, used a ham hock, and had to add garlic salt AFTER the beans got soft because I had very little garlic powder. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I altered this recipe a bit; instead of the smoked turkey leg, I fried up a pound of bacon; added 1 jalopeno and some cilantro for the last hour of cooking; no bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States