Paleo Slow Cooker Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I was looking for a recipe that had all the ingredients in the house and this one fit the bill. I was a little hesitant about 3 Tablespoons of Curry - but no worries this was awesome. I didn't have potato starch so I used a litttle bit of cornstarch mixed with cold water but didn't thicken the sauce until the meat was done. I served this with Jasmine rice and steamed green beans. Hubby says that this is "Meat and Potato" guy approved. I will be making this again, for sure. As a side note I used a 4 quart slow cooker and there was more than enough room maybe even a little bit big for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
We tried this dish today. I wanted to love it. It has a lot of flavors that I adore. However, my husband and I agree that the recipe came out far too salty. Furthermore, the balance between the fruit taste and the curry was not properly balanced. If we try this again, I will definitely add more raisins and possibly more apple. I would also remove the salt from the ingredient list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This is absolutely phenomenal. Best pork roast I've ever had or made! A few notes - I used fresh squeezed orange juice, about 1/4 cup chicken broth instead of bouillon, dried cherries instead of raisins, and skipped the starch. It probably came out a bit more "broth-y" than the original recipe intends, but it was still fantastic! Also, another reviewer mentioned it was too salty for their taste - my husband and I did not notice the salt at all, but perhaps using chicken broth instead of bouillon mitigated the salt content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
394 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I tried, and I really wanted to like it. Very bland, imo. Could have used some pineapple (fresh) perhaps, or something else. It's edible, but I wouldnt make it again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steelydale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
We gfound this a bit bland. Next time I would add 1/2 c to 1 c. spicy curried peach chutney or some spicy fruit chutney of some type
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Really really excellent just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peyton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I must first confess... I inadvertently tweaked this recipe quite a bit, although I don't think I changed the taste much. I only have a bunch of cuties on hand, so I peeled them, and just threw them in the pot (and mashed them up in the pot), didn't have an apple, so used applesauce instead. Didn't have raisins so used dates and didn't like coconut, so omitted them. Didn't have a slow cooker, so just cooked them in a pot for slightly under an hour. Last thing, added frozen broccoli in towards the end of the cooking time. I actually enjoy the taste (without the coconut) very much and the orange pulp made the potato starch redundant. Such an easy but yummy meal to make!! Would be doing this often from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Thanks really enjoyed this recipe, I followed it pretty closely except I used a couple of tbsp of Indian seasoning mix I had and cornstarch instead of potato starch. I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I was surprised how well this turned out and will make again. Reading the reviews I was worried there wouldn't be enough flavor so I added a little more cinn. extra apple and doubled the curry and added about 1/2 tsp of garam masala, and 2 whole cloves and 2 bay leaves and tangerine juice because its what i had. After cooking 4 hours I plucked an orange from my tree and added a tsp of the zest. I did not add coconut but planned to add coconut milk if it needed it, but it didn't in my opinion. I just used pork chops what was on sale at the store,and cut them up. Very tender sweet and spicy-really delicious- economical- healthy and EASY. Can make sauce thick by adding cornstarch and cold water together at end of cooking but I liked it soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEVADA753

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This is SO DARN GOOD! I'm thrilled I found it and will be making it again and again! Thank you for this awesome, paleo goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States