Paleo Omelet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
These go by many names and I’ve tried a number of different recipes and variations. Every time I make them they are well-received; not only delicious, but conversation pieces as well! They make plain old scrambled eggs a little more special and a little more festive. (In fact, I’m thinking these just may be part of my Christmas breakfast menu when my whole gang comes home for Christmas) There are as many variations as there are ingredients you can think of to put in them! Chopped zucchini, broccoli, mushrooms, shredded cheese, bacon – all would be delicious. I adjusted the ingredients in this recipe to suit my tastes – for half a recipe, 4 eggs, I used 1/ 2 cup ham, about 2 T. each of finely diced red pepper and red onion, fresh minced chives, and about 2/3 shredded cheddar cheese. I also added a splash of milk. What’s important, I think, is to finely chop your vegetables to make sure they cook through in this brief cooking time and to make sure the muffin cups are filled almost to the top. I used silicone cups sprayed with Pam, and filled them with a 1/4 cup measuring cup. A four egg recipe, given the additions and proportions of ingredients I chose to use, made six muffins. I baked them just till set and not wet looking, about 22 minutes. A teeny dollop of sour cream and a sprinkling of minced red pepper and fresh chives dressed them up real pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
399 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
These are great for big and little hands. I like to add chopped mushrooms and then saute' them lightly with veggies in a bit of butter before adding to egg mixture. This ensures that the veggies are not crunchy when muffins are done. My grand kids love to grab one and eat it on the way to the bus stop, daughter either eats one on the way to work or saves it for mid morning snack. I love them cold. Good stuff and my Sunday Morning Brunch Bunch requests them when brunch is at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, and they came out great. My son loves eggs, and this is another exciting way for me to give him eggs in the lunch box. I some times add bacon or sausage instead of ham, only because thats what I have on hand that day. I also experimented with other veggies and it seemed to work every time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Very easy and tasty! Added some other veggies like broccoli and substituted ham for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This is a great recipe. Followed it to the "T" but very versatile, add the veggies you like. Convenient for the " on the go" person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I love this recipe!! I put quite a bit more vegetables in though. I have used broccoli, peppers, spinach, kale, carrots, zucchini, squash sweet potatoes not much you could not use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bberthiaume1
Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This was a great way for my kids to eat veggies. Like others I used the vegetables I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This recipe is really good but I can say that it's NOT Paleo because we don't use bacon, sausage or ham in Paleo because of the salt & sugar contents. But I use chicken instead and it is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I cook breakfast for my girlfriend's friends when they come to town. These were a quick, delicious hit with them. I only used peppers, onion, and cheese. This is a really easy recipe to tailor to your own liking, which I see myself doing in the future because I'll definitely be cooking these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I LOVE these muffins, and even my very picky daughter would eat them (that's a major score in my book!!!). Great to reheat in the morning for a quick and healthy breakfast.. Followed the recipes modifications outlined in Naples 34102 review (you clan NEVER go wrong following her feedback!). Added a little more than 1/3 cup each of finely chopped red pepper and onion, along with a Cup of finely chopped ham and roughly one cup shredded cheese to the 8 eggs. Added a splash of milk, filled using a 1/4 measuring cup. It made 17 reasonably-sized muffins using lightly greased (using non-stick spray) silicone muffin cups (these things are awesome, easy to clean & nothing sticks). The possibilities are endless with this recipe...thanks for sharing Becki!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Omelet Muffins

See how to make the perfect paleo-friendly, grab-and-go breakfast treat.

Baked Brunch Omelet

A simple, savory baked egg casserole with plenty of ham and cheese.

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States