Paleo Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made this frosting for a wacky cake (even though the wacky cake is not a Paleo recipe) and thought it was very good. It's not real sweet like other frostings but the texture was great. When eating with cake you hardly notice the difference, at least my DH did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Pleasantly surprising! This is a smooth, creamy, rich frosting that doesn't overpower with sweetness. Definitely not a super-sweet frosting that would appeal to younger tastes, this is an adult-friendly frosting and goes great with a dark chocolate cake. This frosting stays moist and is great for dry cakes (like many gluten-free cakes). I highly recommend trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I just made this and it is great. The kids love it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This recipe is great! I was going crazy with boredom on a raw food cleanse, and this saved me :o). I would thin it with some unsweetened vanilla almond milk, sprinkle with cashews, and dip apple slices in it. Delish!! I finished the cleanse months ago, but still love making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Wonderful regardless of whether or not you are on the paleo diet. I was looking for a frosting recipe that didn't include shortening (gross) or butter (lactose intolerant). I followed the recipe exactly and am quite pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Absolutely decadent! I added two packs of stevia because I thought it was a bit bitter at first, but this is amazing. It's great alone or on cake as frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This was super easy and even my butter n bacon husband liked it! This was too rich for a pudding but had a wonderful deep chocolate flavor and perfect texture for frosting. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5COOKIEMUNCHERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
One thing going for it. It is very nice, creamy, smooth... but, I don't care for the taste. I think if I was to ever try this again, I'd use bananas in place of the avocado. Also, butter or crisco in place of the coconut oil. A 14 oz. jar cost over $12.00, a 16 oz pkg of butter is from $2.00 to $4.00, and you would get a little flavor in there too. I like to cook more for flavor than looks, I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This was amazing...and really helps with my diet!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Oh my goodness this is AMAZING! I only had dark cocoa powder and pure vanilla (not extract) so those are the only substitutes, if you could call it that, that I made to this recipe. I don't think I'll EVER make chocolate frosting any other way again. I LOVED THIS! And so did all of my Crossfit friends this morning!! Thank you for sharing this recipe - I'll never have to feel guilty about 'cheating' again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imatami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States