Paleo Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Super! I'd like to see many more healthy Paleo recipes and desserts on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I know nothing of Paleo diet, but for a healthy alternative for myself...amazing. I honestly can tell you, this never made it to the frig to siffen for frosting. The pudding like consistancy I found to be quite pleasing as well as the nip of bitterness from the cocoa...I love it when I can use avocados in another way and put a twist on something. And this is absolutely wonderful. For myself, I used a honey alternative, to cut down the sugar but with the same taste as honey. Hands down, if I want something sweet late night, I'm going for this. It was soo simple and easy to make as well as the overall thickness, smoothness and the easy of throwing a few ingredients in a little food processor. LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!!! And if you like a little nip of bitter chocolate, you will love this. It wasn't overly powerful and it wasn't milky sweet, to me, it was simply just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was interesting. I had seen it under the new recipes today, with other healthy recipes and decided to try it. It was like a thick slightly sticky pudding in texture and kind of tasted like bittersweet chocolate. This is definitely not sweet like one would think of frosting made with butter and powdered sugar. If I was on the paleo diet, I would be satisfied with this on yellow cupcake. Assuming, there is some type of paleo version of a cupcake. I made 1/2 recipe, to try it, and got about little over a 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I think this is such a neat way to make frosting while using healthier fats. When I made the recipe as is, there was a bit of bitter aftertaste that was just too strong for our tastes (plus I was trying to get this by 12 seven year olds for a birthday party and it did not pass my son's initial taste test). SO I added some powdered sugar until the bitterness was covered and voila! The cupcakes with this frosting were the hit of the party (we also had regular cupcakes with buttercream frosting available). The extra powdered sugar does not make this frosting extra healthier by any means but it was definitely very good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by webbfam_moejoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Oh my goodness this is AMAZING! I only had dark cocoa powder and pure vanilla (not extract) so those are the only substitutes, if you could call it that, that I made to this recipe. I don't think I'll EVER make chocolate frosting any other way again. I LOVED THIS! And so did all of my Crossfit friends this morning!! Thank you for sharing this recipe - I'll never have to feel guilty about 'cheating' again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imatami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
In my search for a chocolate frosting with better fats than butter and cream cheese, I found this! It is excellent! It tastes, looks, and feels very much like chocolate pudding at first. Once it has been in the fridge for a day or so, it get's closer to the "frosting" consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
One thing going for it. It is very nice, creamy, smooth... but, I don't care for the taste. I think if I was to ever try this again, I'd use bananas in place of the avocado. Also, butter or crisco in place of the coconut oil. A 14 oz. jar cost over $12.00, a 16 oz pkg of butter is from $2.00 to $4.00, and you would get a little flavor in there too. I like to cook more for flavor than looks, I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
OMG I didn't even have a cake to frost. I'm just eating it by the spoonful. Soo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This recipe is phenomenal! I just made it for my dad who hasn't had cake in probably five years. He was thrilled! It's easy to make, tastes delicious (it has a nice dark chocolatey flavor), and it totally passed the kids' palate test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Pleasantly surprising! This is a smooth, creamy, rich frosting that doesn't overpower with sweetness. Definitely not a super-sweet frosting that would appeal to younger tastes, this is an adult-friendly frosting and goes great with a dark chocolate cake. This frosting stays moist and is great for dry cakes (like many gluten-free cakes). I highly recommend trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States