Paleo Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Yes this recipe is good and to my surprise I could not taste the avocados however it should say to use really ripe avocados because I did not and my frosting came out lumpy no matter how how many times I pulsed it in food processor.I will try this one again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
This recipe as stated is a little bitter, however I just needed it be vegan, not paleo, so I added some powdered sugar and it was AMAZING! Truly rocked my world! Used it on vanilla vegan cupcakes and topped with coconut. Yum. Yum. Yum. I'm giving it 4 stars only because I did want to add sugar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe! I modified it using bananas instead of avocados and butter instead of coconut oil and it took the bitter after taste COMPLETELY AWAY! my 5year old LOVED it! and it goes great on top of my vanilla Paleo cupcakes....DEEEEELISH!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I can't even describe how delicious this is! By itself, you can taste the avocado, but it is not overpowering and still delicious - a great, healthy dessert. Used as a frosting, it tastes just like regular frosting and is AMAZING. I topped the Amazing Chocolate Quinoa Cake and the Gluten Free Chickpea Cupcakes with this frosting (both from this site) and couldn't stop eating. I'm going to try making a big batch and freezing for later, since avocados and gauc freeze so well. I don't feel guilty giving my 2 yr old "frosting" for breakfast with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I found this recipe looking for a healthy alternative frosting, just knowing that I wouldn't find one. I seriously had my doubts about it but decided what the heck, the worse thing that could happen is that I'd toss it and say that I'd tried. Well, much to my surprise, it is AMAZING! I didn't want to lick the spoon, I was kind of scared to, thinking it would just taste like avocado. Well, I don't taste any of it, just the sweet goodness of chocolate! It was all I could do to stop myself from eating the whole batch! I made half a batch, used Maple Syrup in place of the honey, added a heaping tsp of espresso powder. I used frozen avocado halves (bought at Costco), let them come to room temperature & they worked perfect. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. I am very picky and this definitely passed my taste test! I have a chocolate cake cooling and will add this frosting, top it with unsweetened coconut & chopped cashew & almonds! I can hardly stand the wait!!! Thanks for the recipe! Any of you who have doubts, try it! You may be pleasantly surprised as I was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Made this for dessert to get rid of some avocados that were on their way out. Family absolutely loved it, but because it's so rich as a pudding we could only eat a few spoonfuls. We all loved the coconut flavor, but agreed it was a little too chocolatey, so when I make it again I will back off the cocoa a little bit. Will definitely make it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made this frosting for a wacky cake (even though the wacky cake is not a Paleo recipe) and thought it was very good. It's not real sweet like other frostings but the texture was great. When eating with cake you hardly notice the difference, at least my DH did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Pleasantly surprising! This is a smooth, creamy, rich frosting that doesn't overpower with sweetness. Definitely not a super-sweet frosting that would appeal to younger tastes, this is an adult-friendly frosting and goes great with a dark chocolate cake. This frosting stays moist and is great for dry cakes (like many gluten-free cakes). I highly recommend trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I just made this and it is great. The kids love it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This recipe is great! I was going crazy with boredom on a raw food cleanse, and this saved me :o). I would thin it with some unsweetened vanilla almond milk, sprinkle with cashews, and dip apple slices in it. Delish!! I finished the cleanse months ago, but still love making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States