Paleo Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This was a very good base recipe. I used 1/4 tsp chipotle powder instead of red pepper flakes, and browned the chicken with the onions before adding the other ingredients to add to the depth of flavor. I held off on the spinach until the last couple minutes so that it wouldn't get mushy and disintegrate. I used about 2 cups of spinach, and will use even more next time since it cooks down so much. 30 minutes was a little longer than it needed to cook, but I really liked it anyway because some of the sweet potatoes broke down, acting as a thickener for the stew. The flavor profile spot on -- savory, sweet, and spicy. And it looked beautiful! Both of my boys cleaned their plates. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This is so good! Honestly when I first read the recipe it sounded like it would be a little bland, but I decided to try it since the reviews were so positive. Glad I did. It's delicious and not bland at all. I made it pretty much exactly as written, except that I used quite a bit more chicken broth (probably about 1.5 cups) and also I didn't have red pepper flakes so I added a dash or 2 of cayenne pepper instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I just made this...it was so delicious but simple to make and cooked very quick. I threw in another cup of spinach and a chopped zucchini and ate it over a bowl of quinoa. So filling and absolutely DELISH...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPeach24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Absolutely loved this. I'm not following a diet, just trying to eat healthy and count calories, so I used regular potatoes instead of sweet ones. Also substituted Cayenne Pepper for Red Pepper flakes as I let someone borrow my red pepper flakes... All in all this was very delicious. Next time I would like to double the broth and add celery and/or carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew George

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Photo by Alter Aries
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Pretty good, since I didn't have spinach but had a package of kale I was going to use it but totally forgot to add it. I already added broccoli and cauliflower and wanted it to be super veggie stew. Definitely a keeper. One thing that I should have done was brown the meat first then add to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This was a hit. The flavor was there. I did double everything and added plenty of broth and adjusted the seasoning to taste. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
First paleo recipe I've tried and I loved it! I will definitely make again; however next time, I'll add the spinach for the last 5-10 minutes of cooking. Putting the spinach in at the same time with the rest of the ingredients causes it to cook down to practically nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
My 8 and 10 year old children loved this recipe. I didn't have the red pepper flakes so I used a pinch of cayenne instead. It was a little too hot for their taste so next time I will omit that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I was surprised by the amount of flavor in this dish. As I was cooking, I thought the recipe would e more bland. We did think that the portion sizes were very small. Very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Day 1 of the paleo diet and made this for dinner for my wife and I. Delicouse, hoping all my meals could taste this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States