Pakistani Spicy Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I used other suggestions and the it turned out okay...much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJANAY44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I used three tomatoes and added tomato paste to make it a more even consistency. I also added some cinnamon and cardamon to the beans. My dinner guests were skeptical but everyone conceeded that the beans were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRICK123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
The lemon pepper in this recipe kind of overpowered the rest of the flavors, and I didn't think the recipe was exceptionally good. A good meal to make once but that's it. It is easy to make but just doesn't quite hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This is a basically good recipe that needs a bit of flavour and interest added. I add about 1 tsbp of chaat masala (available from Indian groceries) towards the end of cooking and serve with puffed rice - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Quite satisfying. (I wouldn't call it spicy, however.) The Chickpea Curry recipe on this site is a bit tastier, if my memory serves me correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This dish is fabulous (with a little tweaking). I added a little bit of cinnamon, curry, and garlic to it and doubled the chili powder... with fantastic results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
As there are no times listed on this recipe, every cook will have different results. I followed the recipe until I stewed the tomatoes, but the taste was a bit tame, so I doubled everything, with decent results. I also added a bit of coriander, cloves and raisins; garlic, a little curry, and a half-tsp of cayenne and it worked out well. I'm not sure if the recipie here is dumbed-down for Amerikans, but my Pakistani friend's version tastes more like the one I made, with cloves, raisins, coriander and who knows what else. PS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
This was edible but not something i would make again. and i LOVE chickpeas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
Good, but definitely not fantastic. I made the recipe as per the instructions, and I didn't care for it at all. It was very bland and the texture wasn't great. I pretty much doubled all the spices and cooked it longer and then it tasted much better. I also added some garlic. It was even better the next day (which is why it gets 4 stars instead of 3).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
The flavor was good but because the chickpeas hardly softened at all, the texture was pretty unpleasant. I think the seasonings would work well with cauliflower/potato/peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States