Pakistani Spicy Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
added some extra spices and almost doubled up on some. definitely better the day after! great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYFINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe! I loved how easy it was and it was delicious- I served it over rice as a main dish. It's a good way to take a break from meat during the week, and it's cheap too as long as you already have some of the spices on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
really tasty and easy to make. ate with naan from Trader Joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Dunst

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Loved this simple recipe and will definitely be making again. Made a day ahead and let soak up the flavors. Would also be good cold. Only change I made was using one can of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was really easy to make and tasted great! I also added some frozen spinach, roasted red pepper, red pepper flakes, and black pepper. I didn't have cumin seeds so I used ground cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thamesarino
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was so easy and super yummy. My toddler and even the baby(almost a year) both devoured it. I used tomatoes fresh from our garden(super sweet) and served it with broiled slices of fresh baby eggplant and zucchini(from the garden) and all of it together made a fabulous lunch, which tasted even better the next day!****EDIT/UPDATE**** Yesterday, I tried this for the first time with canned tomatoes instead of fresh(the season is over) and thought that an update was neccesary. I used a 15 oz can of petite diced tomatoes which worked out well, but b/c of the difference in flavor I ended up doubling all the spices, and also added about 1/2 tbsp of ground cumin as well to get the same flavor I was used to with the fresh tomatoes. Also just to add, like others have stated, I saute the onions adding them to the seeds, and then add the tomatoes. This is still one of my favortie go-to lunches! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thamesarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I love this dish! We take it to almost every social event we go to and each time someone asks us how to make it. We tell them we found it here at All Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
My boyfriend and I absolutely LOVED this recipe. It was something out of the ordinary for us and it had great flavor. I would recommend this to anyone who likes chick peas or who likes a little Indian-type flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatalanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This was a great vegetarian dish! I only made two changes - I used ground cumin instead of seeds (so I added the tomatoes and all of the dry seasonings to the pan first thing) and I added the onions a few minutes before the chickpeas so they could cook longer. I left it on low heat on the stove until the juice was thick and the it was delicious! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
First of all, two tomatoes is not enough. I used 7 roma tomatoes and wish I had used about 10. Secondly, why put the onions in last? Shouldn't they be sauteed first so they aren't hard? I put the tomatoes infirst and then simmered the seasonings. I also had to double the cumin and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States