Pakistani Potato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
This definitely had a "different" taste to it. But my boyfriend and I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
I love this recipe and have made it for a few years to rave reviews of friends and family. Like many other reviewers, however, I usually double the yogurt and spices. It's also worked well with the addition of chickpeas and a couple of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
oh yes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This was nice and easy. Not too spicy, but nicely flavoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
Made two batches of this recipe. First one was too mild for everyone who tried it but I doubled the spices and yogurt for the second one and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Very, very good. I used garlic powder instead of paste increased the yogurt and also added red chiles finely diced for extra kick. Note that you had add the potatoes to the chicken mixture sooner than the recipe says, as a way to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
good stuff! i will add onions next time. great for leftovers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I altered this recipe a little because I had to use the spices I had at home. I used garam masala, some sambar powder, and ground ginger. I made this for my bf who is from Pakistan and he liked it ok. He only liked the chicken, but he is a picky eater. I had to add MUCH more spices than the recipe called for, probably at least tripled the amount, and he said the spices were just right, but he likes it very spicy. For the Americanized version, I still think it would be better to add a little more spices than the recipe calls for. I also had to use more yogurt at the last minute than it called for to give it a creamier consistency and it still got a little dry. Overall, good flavor, but double yogurt and spices. Might cook again minus the vegetables as my bf is such a picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anthro
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
As a guide this is a great recipe. I did make some changes recommended in the other reviews. I did double up on the spices and yogurt. I first cooked the garlic and ginger for about 5 minutes, then added the chicken saute that for 5 minutes then added the salt, red pepper powder and cumin. Cooked that for about 5 minutes then added the red bell pepper and potatoes. For looks, I fried the potatoes to give them some color. Mixed everything together for 5 minutes then added the yogurt. Mixed that and some water and cooked till everything was done. Sprinkle some chopped cilantro and green pepper (for some more heat). I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I have followed the recipe for lamb with potatoes, or aalu gosht. Haven't made it yet with chicken, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Greek Lemon Chicken and Potatoes

This simple and inexpensive recipe is a proven crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States