Pakistani Pot Roast Beef Fillets (Pasanday) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
My husband and I dine at Indian/Pakistani restaurants frequently. I enjoy the cuisine, but my husband is a fanatic. I finally made this recipe after adding it to my recipe box almost a year ago. It was so easy to prepare...I've avoided making this food at home because most recipes I've seen are very complicated. I got all the spices needed and a large package af naan at an Indian grocery for only $8.00, much cheaper than a regular supermarket, IF you can even find all of them there. The only change I made was that I added flour and water right before serving to improve the consistency because the sauce was very thin. I also simmered it over medium to medium-low heat rather than low, because it just didn't seem to be cooking. I served it over a bed of steamed basmati rice. It turned out wonderful...very authentic and unbelievably easy. My husband couldn't stop raving, and he wants me to make it often. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
most delicious! I would just tell you that you can easily cut way back on the amount of oil suggested and it comes out great. Would not change another thing! thanks for the great Pakistani recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
this is a terrific dish for a party. it's kind of exotic, but not over the top, and very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I just had to review this again to let Shazia know that my husband loves this dish so much he requested it for his birthday dinner along with my naan. We're both huge fans of Middle Easter cuisine and this is a wonderful dish. For the previous reviewer I'd like to offer up a bit of advice as I've made this dish several times myself - it sounds as if you cooked the meat too long. I find that sometimes, depending upon the cut of meat I use, it takes even less than 25 minutes to cook fully. I cook only until the meat is just done and it comes out beautifully every time. Thank you so much, Shazia, I hope to try more of your contributions soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking4two

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was a great dish. I used a more tender cut of steak, which is just what I had on hand, but the whole family enjoyed it. It is definitely worth trying, and I will be making it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I made this last night for dinner and it was a hit! My Mom cooks pasanday's and her recipe was far more complicated and even she commented how much better these were! My family loved it even my very fussy boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I made this with a pretty cheap cut of beef, so I sliced it extremely thinly while it was thawing. Marinated it overnight - cut back a little on the cloves, and added a lot more ginger/garlic paste. Served it over basmati rice with paratha. Very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Made this with venison for a potluck dinner today and it was amazing. This is actually a pretty common dish in south-east asia not just in pakistan. I doubled the sauce and added some cubed up potatoes, carrots and beans, which I half fried beforehand. Most of the pasanday recipes I saw before used whole cloves, cimmamon but marinating the meat with all the powdered spices definite had the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
Flavor was nice but meat was tough (even with eye of round simmered for an hour). Would definitely recommend cooking longer. I preferred the taste paired with a fresh lettuce and tomato salad served with extra yogurt like my middle eastern friends generaly serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This was truly delicious. I just used beef steak cut into bite size pieces, and cooked some basmati rice to eat on the side. Very easy to make, no hassle at all. My husband really loved it too! Great recipe, thnx a lot for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States