Pakistani Lentil Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Truly authentic recipe, it turns out really good!! We do need to soak the lentils overnight at least for proper tenderness and to lessen the cooking time. It is ok not to soak it when you're using pressure cooker or something to cook the lentils in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
The flavors of this lentil curry are very complementary and are fabulous. I will definitely make this again. Had I heeded the advice of others and reduced liquid, I would have rated this recipe with five stars. I did soak the lentils for a little over an hour, and cooked the lentils longer than recommended (simply out of my convenience in preparing the meal). By the way, I served this with Roti bread, flounder as the main entree, and Pinot Grigio wine. Spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
These lentils came out super tasty. I didn't use red lentils and I halfed the recipe, incorporated it with the Vegetable Curry recipe from this site and served over rice with the naan recipe also from this site. It was delicious! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
good flavors but somehow i forgot to look at the reviews before trying it, and added all the water the recipe recommended... and ended up draining what seemed like quarts of delicious-smelling liquid out of it, to my extreme distress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Excellent recipe. Very close to what I’ve had at the homes of Pakistani friends. I took other reviewers’ suggestions and used 3 cups of vegetable stock instead of 4. I also doubled the spices. I added about ½ cup of coconut milk instead of milk. This really made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Yummy! I did double the spices as others suggested, mostly because I love everything spicy. I also used green lentils instead of red/brown because that's what I had on hand. The curry was soupy, but that's what it made it perfect on top of rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Writing this review as i am eating this. when i cooked it i doubled all of the spices by cayenne pepper due to the heat. This has just the right amount of flavor and is very soft with a little crunch from some under cooked lentils which i like(i also didn't soak the lentils). This is my first time cooking curry and i just started eating lentils this summer but this dish is going to be made more often :) as a busy teenager with a mostly plant based diet i like that i don't have to do much with this dish but but it in a pot and boil/simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Very good after I doubled the spices. I like the loose almost soupy quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sonora, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made this recipe starting with 2 cups of water and added as needed. I probably used at least 3 cups. I did not soak the lentils as they cook quickly without soaking. I did not have all the listed spices so I substituted curry powder (about 3 teaspoons) in their place and added 1 diced potato. I also added a touch of cloves and cinnamon. It was delicious! I would make it again. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Ended up being a mushy, very thick "soup." It also needed more curry flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States