Pain Perdu II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I made this & it was a hit! I followed the recipe and it was wonderful. I'm not sure why people bother rating a recipe when they've change almost everything in it! A few things I can see..but omitting the orange & using cinnamon and vanilla? That's just an entirely different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I didn't have orange liqueur, so we used orange juice and I added a bit more orange peel (I used the dried kind). It was very tasty, good flavor, but makes more egg mixture than I needed personally. But then again, we don't let our bread sit in the mix, just dunk it and then put it directly in the pan. Next time I may try it as someone else suggested--with vanilla & cinnamon added, as I think we missed those flavors (but did like the contribution of orange flavor!). Thanks for the recipe! Oops, sorry, we ate it up before we thought about taking a picture :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Tasty french toast, but next time I think I'll add half the liquor. The liquor taste was too strong for me, especially for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Try using vanilla, cinnamon, and sugar in the egg/milk mixture. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghc630

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This was fantastic, I'm making for dinner tonight! When I first made it, my family requested it 3 days in a row! I ran out of orange liquor so once used orange extract (fantastic) instead. Once used 1/2 orange and 1/2 almond extracts. I like to serve it w/fresh blueberries and powdered sugar sprinkled on top. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotdiggitydogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This was a very flavorful alternative to regular french toast. I only used 6 pieces of white bread so I halved the other ingredients as well, but found that the bread was really dry. I ended up mixing up the remaining amounts and adding them to the shallow pan. After about 5 minutes I flipped the bread pieces and let them sit for another 5 minutes before putting them on the grill. Just awesome! I also did not have any oranges to make the zest, but the flavor was still exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLONDIENEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I made it with left over french bread. I also reduce the sugar & served with syrup. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I have made this several times with rave reviews. So delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Wow! I can't imagine eating french toast any other way now. So tasty even though I used triple sec for the orange liquer (not very authentic) I will try Grand Marnier next time like someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I made a version of this recipe for New Year's morning and it was such a hit. Instead of orange brandy and orange zest, I used Grand Marnier and clementines with day-old challah bread. In addition, I created a sauce using freshly squeezed juice from the clementines, Grand Marnier, powdered sugar, and maple syrup. This was an extrememly rich, complex-tasting french toast with minimal preparation involved. This paired perfectly with mimosas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Sazerac Cocktail

This classic rye whiskey cocktail is the official drink of New Orleans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States