Pain de Campagne - Country French Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Definitely worth the wait. I used whole wheat flour and it was amazing! I couldn't wait to get home from work today and eat some more. I'll definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tb
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Easy recipe I had never made bread before useing this recipe it's simple enough for any novice to try I never once ruined it and have honed my skills and love makeing fresh bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Amazing bread! Perfectly spongey chewy texture. Love love love. After reading others' reviews, and having taken some official college baking courses, here are my tips: You can simplify the shaping and raising steps. When shaping your loaves, flatten out your ball gently. Then roll up from the bottom, tight like a sleeping bag, squeezing out any bubbles as you go. Pull the ends even as you go, too, so it rolls like a jelly roll, not a croissant. Pinch the seam tightly.. Also, you don't need a baking cloth. At step 6 just place your loaves on your baking sheet and let them rise there. No need for an awkward transfer. For a tougher chewier crust, brush it lightly with water before baking and a few times during. Also, you could place an oven-safe pan of boiling water in your oven to create steam, or carefully flick or spray water onto the hot pan during baking, creating steam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was good - not as good as I was hoping for all the trouble. Not sure that I will go through the looooong process and the huge mess that I made making this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I spent a good part of the day making this bread and it was not nearly as good as my sourdough bread which is a lot less work and tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
thank you so much for sharing this. It is comparatively easy for a french bread, very flavorful, and just turned out perfect. this is going in my treasure box. I made it for our harvest festival and it was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Even better when baked in a Big Green Egg... get that wood-fired oven effect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel T
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
followed this recipe exactly, except for adding a pan of hot water to the oven during baking. produced wonderfully chewy bread with a nice crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
These came out perfect on the first try! I don't know for sure if this made a difference, but I followed another reader's advice and put a pan of water in the bottom of the oven. I also took another reader's advice and divided the dough into three portions so they would fit into my baking pans. As a result, the loaves only took about 20 minutes but were beautifully crusty and had a nice texture. (Too bad my camera wasn't working; I would have loved to submit a photo!) My 11 year old son and his friend polished off an entire loaf almost immediately after they came out of the oven. This recipe will definitely be used again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Fantastic recipe, absolutely delicious, I'll be making this again. Any tips on how to transfer to the baking tray(s) out of the cloth welcome - I couldn't keep their shape but nevertheless delicious. Thanks, Phil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States