Pain de Campagne - Country French Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is a great recipe. If you plan ahead & make your sponge before you go to bed, you can have a fairly quickly made bread the next day. I got up at 5, mixed the rest of the flour & ingredients and went back to bed. When I get up at 8, it was ready to be formed into loaves to rise for the last time. I had hot, fresh bread for Sunday lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
The recipe turned out very nicely. The instructions though left me guessing in a few places, particularly the part about putting flour on a towel and making seams in the bread. But, what I got in the end was quite tasty! Also, I would add the salt earlier next time. In spite of kneading quite a bit, I ended up with some salty spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I halved the recipe to make just one loaf and now I wish I had made two. I used white WW in my poolish, which I ended up fermenting for about 30 hours due to circumstances. I just added a little more water and flour (about 1/8 cup each) when I realized I couldn't use it until the 2nd day. It just gave that much more flavor to the bread. The proportions are spot on and the dough is a pleasure to work with. Thanks, violet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I love this recipe easy and really moist inside with a crusty crust the only thing I did different is a egg and water wash on the crust so it would brown up nice and golden other then that it is awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This bread is simply amazing! It is a labor of love, that is for sure, but it is not difficult, just time consuming. But, if you read the recipe thoroughly before you begin, and you know what you are getting yourself into, you can plan accordingly. I kneaded this by hand, and feel like I got a pretty good workout haha! If you do it this way, I highly suggest you set your kitchen timer, as it takes quite a bit longer than your brain will guesstimate! I think this bread is well worth the time and effort- it is just about the perfect bread :) Thanks for a great recipe violet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
alothough time consuming, this bread is GREAT, my daughter loves this type of bread for sandwiches, made into "sandwich size" loaves, wonderful, and should last for several weeks, froze them in "week size" freezer bags......worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Divan Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Very nice recipe, delicious bread. Cooked the Coq au vin, while the dough was rising. Vive la France :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This is the first bread that I've made that turned out successfully and I think its because the steps were laid out very comprehensively. Its actually NOT a lot of work, considering you can mix the poolish the night before you make the loafs as well as NOT that many ingredients. The hardest part was mixing the 6 cups of unbleached flour in -I swear if I get arthritis in 50 years it'll be because of this bread. but its worth it! Fresh out of the oven, the smell is heavenly and the crackling sound it makes when you first cut into it is divine. My husband said it was restaurant quality good. I served it beside Daube de boeuf provencal, and it soaked up the stews juices really well. If I could get my hands on a whole wheat version -then it would just be too good to be true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I've made this a few times. Turns out great each time. I have been using loaf pans instead of a french bread pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Prokop

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Great recipe. I've used this about 5 times now and I've been successful every time. I've lately tweaked the recipe a little, substituting 4 egg whites (beaten) for 1/2 cup of the water, and this seems to give the bread a little more strength and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States