Pain au Chocolat (Chocolate-Filled Croissant) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LPHILLIPS9
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
These turned out to be my Saturday baking project... I didn't feel like dusting off my bread machine so I just used my KitchenAid with good results. When you start to read this recipe you will find it necessary to add more liquid to the batter, I added about 1/2 cup more, and used all semi sweet choc chips that I chopped up a bit. Also there is no need to pinch the ends closed. They look prettier if left open... We loved these flaky, crispy, buttery, chocolaty petit pain au chocolat and served with steaming cafe au lait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I want to give this recipe 4 1/2 stars, not the best, but very very worth making. I don't have a bread machine, so I made the dough by hand, and let rise. The first folding would be less messy if you chilled the dough a bit after proofing. I also made cuts, for the chocolate to show through (and look more like store-brought). I baked about 12 mins, and they turned out lovely golden brown. The taste is different from the normal croissant, but still soft, fluffy and slightly flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I've tried to make Pain au Chocolat before with other recipes, but they were too buttery and too much hassle. This recipe was wonderful! I only changed the amount of chocolate used to fill the croissants--only 10 oz of chopped chocolate. It was plenty chocolaty, and quite delicious. My husband and I, who recently returned from a vacation in Europe and there fell in love with the chocolate-filled croissants, really enjoyed this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edna, Kansas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by candi
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was a fun recipe to make. I don't have a bread machine so it was necessary for me to add about 1/2 cup of water as well. Although this is a recipe I've been wanting for awhile I wasn't satisfied. It was better once the chocolate had cooled, but I live at a higher altitude, and the croissant came out really hard once cooled. They were ok, but I was looking for something with a sweeter croissant and a more mousse like filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephiehawk
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I don't use a bread machine, so I did everything by hand. It worked out great! Very much worth the wait! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephiehawk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
For starters, even using a bread machine that water amount is not correct. I found that 3/4 cup is perfect so this must be a typo. Working the butter into the dough is so very critical, do not rush this step. You can leave the dough in overnight after you have worked the butter though it, instead of 30 minutes. I roll my dough similiar to rolling cinnamon rolls. Cut it in 1/2 (6x21") and make 2 rows of chocolates, one starting at the beginning of the roll and the second one at the half mark. Roll it into a tube and cut into 3" pieces. I want to try making them next using an almond paste. Thanks so much for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Croissants are not for the faint of heart! For one, make sure you prep your yeast - warm water (105 F) with the sugar, and then add the yeast to the water for 5 to 10 minutes, or until it is frothy (I didn't do that! Massive Oops!) You need to make sure the dough rises too (I didn't do that - massive Oops!), and you really need to wait between rolling out the dough (I did do that!). If you want them to look like real croissants (real as in the ones you see in a bakery), you have to cut them into triangles (learned this after I made them rolls... oh boy!). Mine are in the oven now for the 15 minutes... hope they taste good!!! ... ... 20 minutes later... OMG delicious! Even though I made some giant mistakes they are oh so good! i will be doing this recipe again for sure the right way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan&Nicky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly The Gymnast
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
It was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Reminds me of St.Maarten. Just pure amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Pain au Chocolat

These raspberry chocolate croissants are elegant and delicious!

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States