Paige's Feta Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
O.M.G. This is the best coleslaw recipe I've ever had the pleasure to review!!!! I didn't have feta so I left it out. I was a little concerned about the amount of pepper... but it was just right. This is an excellent recipe.... hope you like it as much as I did! Oh... and, IMHO... the oil amount is just right. I'm still munching on it 3 days later and it just keeps getting better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I would first like to thank you, Shirina, for a slaw recipe with no sugar. I've made this twice, differently each time. The first time I seasoned it with "grains of paradise" (an african pepper); the second time I used italian seasoning, & left out the carrots & onions. Both times I used rice vinegar instead of distilled, & followed the suggestion of one reviewer to use 1/4 cup each of vinegar, olive oil, & water; also used way less salt (about 1/2 tsp). I left out the feta cheese both times because I wanted a plain slaw. If I want to do italian again, I would probably choose to use a combination of just basil & marjoram, which would suit my tastes better. Red cabbage also works well. It is a very refreshing salad. This recipe is a definite keeper & I will be using it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
This is sooo good! I have been serving it instead of a regaluar salad. I used equal parts (1/4 cup) water, vinegar and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Excellent slaw recipe. Reduced the olive oil to 1/2 C. and used Basil & Greek Seasoning! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Delicious! I, too, have been looking for a non-sweet cabbage salad and this fits the bill perfectly. I used white wine vinegar and left out the water completely. I also added some shredded carrots and a thinly sliced fresh green chile (anaheim or similar), which added a nice dimension to the flavor. Oh, and I'll put crumbled feta on anything, so this really appealed to me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Wonderful recipe! My family doesn't like traditional cole slaw but this was gone in minutes. Tupperware has a GREAT Italian seasoning, that I really like with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Em

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I don't think this recipe needs any tweaking. I made it exactly as directed and it turned out super. It was one of the sides I served this year with my Easter ham. Everyone commented on how delicious it was and there were no left overs. Thanks for an easy winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Awesome! I have never liked creamy slaw, but love raw cabbage. I've looked and looked for an alternative, and WHA-LA! here it is!! VERY quick to make. Made a few changes as per other users. Used 1/4 olive oil, rice wine vinegar and water, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 1/2 pepper (still very peppery w/ that amount, which I like. Reduce even more if you're not fond of pepper), and 4 oz of feta cheese (as that is what the store bought packages come in). Husband and kids loved it!! Gone in a day!! Thanks Paige! This will be a favorite for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Very good slaw with an Italian flar, light and great on a hot summer night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I made this last night for lunch today, but I just snuck a little taste and I'm not sure it's going to last that long. Wow, is this good! I pretty much eyeballed the ingredients, tasting it until it was how I liked it. The feta I used was pretty tangy and salty, so I added a tiny amount of Splenda too. This really is very delicious. I will definitely make it again in the coming bbq/potluck months. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States