Paige's Feta Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
O.M.G. This is the best coleslaw recipe I've ever had the pleasure to review!!!! I didn't have feta so I left it out. I was a little concerned about the amount of pepper... but it was just right. This is an excellent recipe.... hope you like it as much as I did! Oh... and, IMHO... the oil amount is just right. I'm still munching on it 3 days later and it just keeps getting better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
This is sooo good! I have been serving it instead of a regaluar salad. I used equal parts (1/4 cup) water, vinegar and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I would first like to thank you, Shirina, for a slaw recipe with no sugar. I've made this twice, differently each time. The first time I seasoned it with "grains of paradise" (an african pepper); the second time I used italian seasoning, & left out the carrots & onions. Both times I used rice vinegar instead of distilled, & followed the suggestion of one reviewer to use 1/4 cup each of vinegar, olive oil, & water; also used way less salt (about 1/2 tsp). I left out the feta cheese both times because I wanted a plain slaw. If I want to do italian again, I would probably choose to use a combination of just basil & marjoram, which would suit my tastes better. Red cabbage also works well. It is a very refreshing salad. This recipe is a definite keeper & I will be using it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Delicious! I, too, have been looking for a non-sweet cabbage salad and this fits the bill perfectly. I used white wine vinegar and left out the water completely. I also added some shredded carrots and a thinly sliced fresh green chile (anaheim or similar), which added a nice dimension to the flavor. Oh, and I'll put crumbled feta on anything, so this really appealed to me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Wonderful recipe! My family doesn't like traditional cole slaw but this was gone in minutes. Tupperware has a GREAT Italian seasoning, that I really like with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Em

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I don't think this recipe needs any tweaking. I made it exactly as directed and it turned out super. It was one of the sides I served this year with my Easter ham. Everyone commented on how delicious it was and there were no left overs. Thanks for an easy winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Awesome! I have never liked creamy slaw, but love raw cabbage. I've looked and looked for an alternative, and WHA-LA! here it is!! VERY quick to make. Made a few changes as per other users. Used 1/4 olive oil, rice wine vinegar and water, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 1/2 pepper (still very peppery w/ that amount, which I like. Reduce even more if you're not fond of pepper), and 4 oz of feta cheese (as that is what the store bought packages come in). Husband and kids loved it!! Gone in a day!! Thanks Paige! This will be a favorite for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Very good slaw with an Italian flar, light and great on a hot summer night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I made this last night for lunch today, but I just snuck a little taste and I'm not sure it's going to last that long. Wow, is this good! I pretty much eyeballed the ingredients, tasting it until it was how I liked it. The feta I used was pretty tangy and salty, so I added a tiny amount of Splenda too. This really is very delicious. I will definitely make it again in the coming bbq/potluck months. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Excellent slaw recipe. Reduced the olive oil to 1/2 C. and used Basil & Greek Seasoning! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Durham Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States