Paige's Feta Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I was hesitant about the feta but it really makes a difference in the taste. Nice flavor and I think perfect for a potluck. I did do what others suggest- used 1/4 cup water, oil and rice vinegar. I also added a shredded carrot for color and added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
This is sooo good! I have been serving it instead of a regaluar salad. I used equal parts (1/4 cup) water, vinegar and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Good slaw. I reduced the olive oil a bit, and used basil/marjoram as someone else suggested. The feta is an unusual and good touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
I made this slaw one night when we had some friends over. It was the one thing that everyone had seconds of! I will make this recipe a regular in my kitchen. I did cut the olive oil back to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Wonderful recipe! My family doesn't like traditional cole slaw but this was gone in minutes. Tupperware has a GREAT Italian seasoning, that I really like with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Em

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I would first like to thank you, Shirina, for a slaw recipe with no sugar. I've made this twice, differently each time. The first time I seasoned it with "grains of paradise" (an african pepper); the second time I used italian seasoning, & left out the carrots & onions. Both times I used rice vinegar instead of distilled, & followed the suggestion of one reviewer to use 1/4 cup each of vinegar, olive oil, & water; also used way less salt (about 1/2 tsp). I left out the feta cheese both times because I wanted a plain slaw. If I want to do italian again, I would probably choose to use a combination of just basil & marjoram, which would suit my tastes better. Red cabbage also works well. It is a very refreshing salad. This recipe is a definite keeper & I will be using it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
O.M.G. This is the best coleslaw recipe I've ever had the pleasure to review!!!! I didn't have feta so I left it out. I was a little concerned about the amount of pepper... but it was just right. This is an excellent recipe.... hope you like it as much as I did! Oh... and, IMHO... the oil amount is just right. I'm still munching on it 3 days later and it just keeps getting better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
i followed this recipe as described with the exception of using less oil as other reviewers have noted, but found the taste a bit too salty for my liking. I would recommend adding a little at a time and tasting along the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Good alternative too the original. Still, I think next time I will use less oil. I also soaked the cabbage in saltwater, rinsed it, then dried it. It got lots of compliments at the potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASTER815K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
This is now my favorite slaw. Yum! Came back to get the recipe again for supper. Used shredded green cabbage and carrots the first time (guessed on the amounts), and apple cider vinegar. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States