Paige's Feta Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Excellent slaw recipe. Reduced the olive oil to 1/2 C. and used Basil & Greek Seasoning! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Durham Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This is OK. Definitely a good change from the usual mayo based slaw. I followed the recipe exactly, except used Italian Salad Dressing instead of the water and Italian seasoning and white onion instead of green onion (what I had on hand). Tasted good, but taste is definitely strong (feta is a great balance). Will make it occasionally for potlucks and summer get-togethers. VERY easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMULLARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I was hesitant about the feta but it really makes a difference in the taste. Nice flavor and I think perfect for a potluck. I did do what others suggest- used 1/4 cup water, oil and rice vinegar. I also added a shredded carrot for color and added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Good slaw. I reduced the olive oil a bit, and used basil/marjoram as someone else suggested. The feta is an unusual and good touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Wonderful recipe! My family doesn't like traditional cole slaw but this was gone in minutes. Tupperware has a GREAT Italian seasoning, that I really like with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Em

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Delicious! I, too, have been looking for a non-sweet cabbage salad and this fits the bill perfectly. I used white wine vinegar and left out the water completely. I also added some shredded carrots and a thinly sliced fresh green chile (anaheim or similar), which added a nice dimension to the flavor. Oh, and I'll put crumbled feta on anything, so this really appealed to me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I would first like to thank you, Shirina, for a slaw recipe with no sugar. I've made this twice, differently each time. The first time I seasoned it with "grains of paradise" (an african pepper); the second time I used italian seasoning, & left out the carrots & onions. Both times I used rice vinegar instead of distilled, & followed the suggestion of one reviewer to use 1/4 cup each of vinegar, olive oil, & water; also used way less salt (about 1/2 tsp). I left out the feta cheese both times because I wanted a plain slaw. If I want to do italian again, I would probably choose to use a combination of just basil & marjoram, which would suit my tastes better. Red cabbage also works well. It is a very refreshing salad. This recipe is a definite keeper & I will be using it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
O.M.G. This is the best coleslaw recipe I've ever had the pleasure to review!!!! I didn't have feta so I left it out. I was a little concerned about the amount of pepper... but it was just right. This is an excellent recipe.... hope you like it as much as I did! Oh... and, IMHO... the oil amount is just right. I'm still munching on it 3 days later and it just keeps getting better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
This is sooo good! I have been serving it instead of a regaluar salad. I used equal parts (1/4 cup) water, vinegar and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
i followed this recipe as described with the exception of using less oil as other reviewers have noted, but found the taste a bit too salty for my liking. I would recommend adding a little at a time and tasting along the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States