Paige's Feta Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Excellent slaw recipe. Reduced the olive oil to 1/2 C. and used Basil & Greek Seasoning! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This is OK. Definitely a good change from the usual mayo based slaw. I followed the recipe exactly, except used Italian Salad Dressing instead of the water and Italian seasoning and white onion instead of green onion (what I had on hand). Tasted good, but taste is definitely strong (feta is a great balance). Will make it occasionally for potlucks and summer get-togethers. VERY easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMULLARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I was hesitant about the feta but it really makes a difference in the taste. Nice flavor and I think perfect for a potluck. I did do what others suggest- used 1/4 cup water, oil and rice vinegar. I also added a shredded carrot for color and added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Good slaw. I reduced the olive oil a bit, and used basil/marjoram as someone else suggested. The feta is an unusual and good touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Wonderful recipe! My family doesn't like traditional cole slaw but this was gone in minutes. Tupperware has a GREAT Italian seasoning, that I really like with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Em

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Delicious! I, too, have been looking for a non-sweet cabbage salad and this fits the bill perfectly. I used white wine vinegar and left out the water completely. I also added some shredded carrots and a thinly sliced fresh green chile (anaheim or similar), which added a nice dimension to the flavor. Oh, and I'll put crumbled feta on anything, so this really appealed to me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I would first like to thank you, Shirina, for a slaw recipe with no sugar. I've made this twice, differently each time. The first time I seasoned it with "grains of paradise" (an african pepper); the second time I used italian seasoning, & left out the carrots & onions. Both times I used rice vinegar instead of distilled, & followed the suggestion of one reviewer to use 1/4 cup each of vinegar, olive oil, & water; also used way less salt (about 1/2 tsp). I left out the feta cheese both times because I wanted a plain slaw. If I want to do italian again, I would probably choose to use a combination of just basil & marjoram, which would suit my tastes better. Red cabbage also works well. It is a very refreshing salad. This recipe is a definite keeper & I will be using it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
O.M.G. This is the best coleslaw recipe I've ever had the pleasure to review!!!! I didn't have feta so I left it out. I was a little concerned about the amount of pepper... but it was just right. This is an excellent recipe.... hope you like it as much as I did! Oh... and, IMHO... the oil amount is just right. I'm still munching on it 3 days later and it just keeps getting better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
This is sooo good! I have been serving it instead of a regaluar salad. I used equal parts (1/4 cup) water, vinegar and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
i followed this recipe as described with the exception of using less oil as other reviewers have noted, but found the taste a bit too salty for my liking. I would recommend adding a little at a time and tasting along the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States