Paella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
While I love seafood Paella made with fish stock, I think the sausage, chicken and chicken stock in this recipe makes it so much more flavorful. Ingredient changes I found nice, but which ended up doubling the recipe: - 12 (not 10) total fresh sausage links (half hot, half mild) from Central Market meat counter (must be larger than 4 oz each, because it was a lot of sausage); - Two packages chicken thighs cut in strips (not tenders); - Added 1 pound Bay Scallops (awesome treats in the dish); - Added 3 scallions, cut into 1 inch pieces (sautéd with other veggies); - Instead of just 1 green pepper, I also added 1 red, 1 yellow and 1 orange pepper (4 total); - Instead of canned, peeled, diced tomatoes, I used 28oz can peeled cherry tomatoes in one dish and 5-6 diced fresh tomatoes (smallish) in the second dish which worked great; - Lots of oregano and extra saffron. Added salt while sautéing veggies. No turmeric.; - Arborio rice, not long grain; I also sautéd the shrimp and bay scallops, very lightly with salt and some oil, then set them to cool and rest before adding them to the dish later. Because this doubled the recipe, at the end of Step 1, I took half the sautéd veggies and moved them to my paella pan to use as my second cooking pot. From there on, I cooked two paellas -- one with all the hot sausage links for the adults and one with all the mild sausage links for the kids. I added extra Arborio rice and broth to balance out the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
It was.good not really paella though, the effort to make was notworth making for a regular dinner. Next time half the serving.size at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
The rice took so long to cook. The veggies ended up mushy by the time the rice was done. I will be using cooked rice next time. I added red peppers, mushrooms and a jalepeno to mine. I don't know if I will try this same recipe again but this was my first time making this sort of dish so I will definatly use some of the elements of this dish to create my own
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This recipe is terrific, but after reading all the reviews, I made a few changes and it turned out great. I eliminated the tomatoes completely, as that would make it more of a Jambalaya and left out the celery. I reduced the meats to 2 chourizo (Portuguese) sausages, cut in 1/2 lenthwise, then sliced into 1/3" half-moons and 2 Andouille sausages, cut into 1/4" slices. I reduced the shrimp to 1 1/4 lbs. I added 1/4 red bell pepper chopped. I increased the garlic to 4 cloves, minced. Added 1 packet of Goya Sazon (contains cilantro and annato)in Step 2. I increased the chicken broth to 3 3/4 cups to make up for the reduction in liquid resulting for eliminating the tomatoes. Took this to a family event and received rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Sausage and shrimp? How can it be anything but wonderful? The 15 minute wait between adding sausage and adding shrimp is not strictly necessary, but allows the sausage flavor to become integrated into the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This dish is requested in my household very often. One change I implemented myself was substituting the mild Italian sausage for chorizo, which gives it an even better flavor combination to the dish. One thing I saw missing in the recipe, that would not be missing at any Spanish restaurant or household is the lemons!! After you serve the food, might want to give people some lemon wedges to squeeze over their dish . I usually squeeze 2 or 3 wedges of lemon to my plate. Other than that this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Overall this is a good recipe, but it just wasn't a true Paella. I made this dish per the recipe and found it fairly easy to make. There are quite a few steps, but they're all easy and everything times together pretty well. The main reason that I didn't give this recipe 5 stars is because the Italian sausage just doesn't belong in this dish. Its completely wrong. I highly recommend using Chorizo instead. As for the seasoning, many other reviewers recommend using saffron, which I would try as well. Those changes would be enough to make this a true Paella and a recipe worthy of 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Loved this recipe. I reduced the amount of meats and substituted Saffron yellow rice...it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was very good. My husband said it was the best thing I had ever made - and I had burnt it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This recipe is surprisingly easy and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States