Paella III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
To save on cooking time in the oven and make sure rice gets cooked through, i cooked the basmati rice in a rice cooker first. I added about 1 cup of the broth to the rice mixture. I also used 1 can stewed tomatoes. Used italian sausage instead of chroizo. I also soaked the saffron in 1tsp of warm water before adding. Put all mixture in a large baking dish, and bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. I did not have peas or clams, but i added a cup of stir fried snap peas and put them on top of the Paella before serving. Will try his reciep again, and add 1/2 tsp turmeric, 1/2 tsp paprika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Mad Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I love that I could make this in the oven in a big roasting pan vs a paella pan (I doubled the recipe). I just checked it every 20 minutes, added more broth if it looked dry and cooked it probably for about an hour in total. I did use Arborio rice which made it more creamy than traditional paella, but I liked it much better this way. I also didn't add the shrimp and added scallops until 15 minutes before taking it out as it seemed like putting them in for an hour would dry them out. Guests devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Corte Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This recipe turned out excellent. I also added scallops, clams, & crab meat. I also took the advice of one of the comments and used clam juice and then added the broth. Instead of baking it, I used a dutch oven on the stovetop. Awesome recipe. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
It was sooo easy. I was a little more generous with the saffron because I love it so much. Even my kids ate this all up with-out a single complaint about there being rice in it! They usually complain about rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
The dish looked beautiful and tasted delicious! I wish it would have came out a little bit more dry, so next time I will add 1/4-1/2 less broth. I also added 1/2 a teaspoon of knorr chicken bouillon (not the cubes) and a sprinkle of sea salt to the actual rice. My fam loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I really liked it, though, it was hard getting the rice, just right in the oven, mine was still too firm after more than an hour of cooking. I'll definitely try it again and see if I can get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrazyChickenLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
My sister made this...she used scallops instead of clams, yellow instead of white rice, omitted the saffron and used about 4 1/2 cups instead of 5 cups broth...it was PERFECT...now I can't wait to make it...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I made this in the dutch oven while camping - all in one pot. I doubled the shrimp and added a little cayenne (I used mild chorizo). It was delicious! It serves way more than six though. I fed six hungry adults (some took thirds) and a handful of kids, and we had leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
AAbsolutely superb. I added scallops, mussels and more clams to the recipe. It was an instant hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giancarla
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Not Paella without Saffron! My mistake, there is Saffron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States