Pad Thai Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I made this for a potluck, and most people liked it but I put a bit too much "heat" in it for some. This was fun to make and fairly simple. Plus, it definitely tastes like Pad Thai. I had always wanted to make a type of caramel corn, so this recipe was easy-to-follow and basically no fail. All said, I will probably make it again some time in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I saw this recipe on the Allrecipes channel on Roku and knew I had to try it. WOW!! It's wonderful! The previous reviewer mentioned that it was too spicy, but I think the heat level is really just a matter of preference as I found it to be perfect. I didn't top with cilantro because I wasn't sure how well the fresh cilantro would store on the popcorn, but it was still just absolutely fantastic. My 6 year-old did complain that it made the house smell like wet dog while it was cooking, and she has a point, but I promise- it's well worth the fish sauce-y smell while it's in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Yum! My only complaint is that I didn't make a double batch! Sweet, spicy, tangy....I'm hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I just made 3 batches of this popcorn. It's so good; spicy, sweet, savory. I followed exactly...very simple. Hardest part for me is popping the corn! I used parchment paper and clean up was easy. The fresh cilantro adds a wonderful fresh flavor and looks great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I made a double batch of this yummiest today. So good and so different. I was really excited to try this and was very happy with the results. I must say I did make 1 change because, unlike Chef John, I am a crazy person. Watch the video if you don't know what I'm talking about. Anyway, I used organic brown rice syrup instead of the corn syrup. It worked beautifully. I did also leave it in the oven for 1 hour also. I felt that it wasn't crusty enough after 40 min. It turned out better then I thought. I have made a number of Chef John's recipes and I have yet to be disappointed, in fact I think I am starting to have a crush on him. He knows good food! Oh I should add that if you keep your unpopped corn in the freezer you will get almost no unpopped kernels while cooking your corn. You can get bulk organic popcorn at any whole foods or health food store for about $ 1.00 a lb. Make this recipe you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Law

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This was very good! Such a great grab and go for a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Crazy good! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
1st bite: weird. 2nd bite: not too bad. 3rd bite: sorta spicy huh? 4th bite: what great flavor. 5th bite: this stuff is good. 6th bite: OMG I can't stop eating it. 7th bite: Mine! All Mine! 8th to 100th bite: I love Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskanDelicacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kotzebue, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Oh wow. This is delicious! I didn't have the chile paste so I used about 2 tsp of Sriracha and it is fantastic, even before adding the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Russell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Started to make this and remembered I was out of canola so...I used coconut oil in the sauce. Used half a cup of popcorn and would go heaping next time, there was enough sauce to cover. Since there was a hot element to this I used hot chili oil to pop the corn. Even with that and a full T of Sricacha I would have liked more heat. Added cilantro to each serving instead of the whole batch for ease in storing leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States