Pad Thai Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This snack is unlike anything I've ever tasted. Everything you expect from caramel corn, but the flavor profile is unique and delish with, dare I say, some yum umami going on from the fish sauce? Fish sauce is a sticky issue for lots of people. If that's you, it's not overwhelming, and the bit of lime is a perfect (and true to Pad Thai) fish sauce counter-flavor. So great savory stuff happening with this one, but definitely a sweet snack first, if you wondered. I used the suggested hot sauce substitute and that was fine. Some people like to shake extra salt on their popcorn. This one is tons of hot fun with a dusting of CAYENNE pepper, especially if the hot sauce doesn't kick as much as you want it to. I suggest reserving that extra ingredient for your own portion, however. Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIGHTSTARRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
While an interesting treat, I found that it burned easily when using a foil lined tray. I had much better results using a tray lined with a silicone mat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This recipe is quite addictive, but a bit too sweet for my taste. I ended up eating way too much of it, and feeling a little bit sick because all of the sugar. So, my advice it to not binge on the delicious treat! Also, the cilantro really brings out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
VERY interesting. At first I was not sure how I felt about this popcorn, but after devouring most of this by myself in a day 1/2, I guess I must have liked it a lot. Not sure I'll make again. I think I prefer caramel popcorn and traditional Pad Thai. But I would definitely recommend trying this out! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I like Pad Thai, but just didn't care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Great recipe. I love the balance of sweet and spicy. However, I did have a few problems with the baking. The first time I made this, I followed the direction for 45 minutes and it came out black. The second time around, I lowered the heat of the oven to 235, and baked it for about 20-25 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I really liked this. I skipped the cilantro (unfortunately, it tastes like soap to me), and used 2T sriracha in place of the chili paste. I read other reviews that said there was enough sauce for more popcorn so I used a little over 1/2 cup popcorn and I wish I had used a lot more. That made about 14 cups popped corn (using the paper bag in microwave method) and I think that it would have tasted better with about 50% more popcorn with the same amount of sauce. I used 4oz of unsalted roasted peanuts and went at them with a mortar and pestle. I thought it was plenty salty and that was enough peanuts. My bf and I ate about half the recipe when it was done. I am trying to save the rest for tomorrow. I plan to make this at my parents' house for 4th of July. It was a lot easier than other caramel corns I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Started to make this and remembered I was out of canola so...I used coconut oil in the sauce. Used half a cup of popcorn and would go heaping next time, there was enough sauce to cover. Since there was a hot element to this I used hot chili oil to pop the corn. Even with that and a full T of Sricacha I would have liked more heat. Added cilantro to each serving instead of the whole batch for ease in storing leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Oh wow. This is delicious! I didn't have the chile paste so I used about 2 tsp of Sriracha and it is fantastic, even before adding the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
1st bite: weird. 2nd bite: not too bad. 3rd bite: sorta spicy huh? 4th bite: what great flavor. 5th bite: this stuff is good. 6th bite: OMG I can't stop eating it. 7th bite: Mine! All Mine! 8th to 100th bite: I love Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskanDelicacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kotzebue, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States