Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
YUMMMMMERS! I've made this a few times, each time adding a few tips from reviewers. This was the best batch and I didn't change it that much. I used sesame oil and garlic instead of butter. I tripled the sauce and used a 16 oz bag of noodles, which I boiled in water for a minute and let sit for 5 minutes before draining with cold water...they were perfect! I added a teaspoon of peanut butter and I also added some grated carrots. I added some sweet chili sauce and added a bit more red pepper, but we like it hot! This was delicious! Almost as good as carry out...and much cheaper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I've never made Pad Thai before. This was an easy and very good recipe. Like another reviewer said Pad Thai is like making chili or soup. You can make all kinds of changes. I will switch up my veggies and meat each time I make this dish. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John P Cobb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is an excellent recipe that will become a regular in our house. I made it twice; with shrimp and with chicken. I tripled the sauce, added extra heat using red pepper sauce, and added just less than a tablespoon of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I was so happy with the results of this recipe! I added about a teaspoon of garlic, as other commenters suggested, and increased the amount of red pepper to 1/4 teaspoon (will use a little more of both next time), but those were the only alterations I made. I was hoping for leftovers but there were none! This recipe was so easy to make, it will definitely become part of my standard rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
READ OTHER REVIEWS FIRST BEFORE TRYING THIS RECIPE. I made the mistake of not reading the reviews for other people's tips and now I regret it. I used an additional 2oz of noodles than listed in the recipe (that was just the size of my package), and my noodles were SO dry. I added more fish sauce, soy sauce, sriracha, the juice of one lime, oil, and it just wasn't helping. Someone mentioned peanut butter, so I will try that next time too. This recipe doesn't include cilantro, which I thought was a must, so I added it as well. I also bought a small package of firm tofu and added it with the chicken. I'm not sure why my noodles weren't cooking well, so I ended up throwing them in another pan and adding a little bit of water which I let evaporate. It seemed to have helped soften the noodles, but maybe there was something I could have done differently. This was my first time making pad thai, so I will leave that as a disclaimer. I have a lot of leftovers, so I think I will go and try to make additional sauce, if possible. I also feel like this recipe didn't have enough ingredients? I am new to thai cooking, but I felt like this was lackluster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
As 'Mommy'slearningtocook' said The color is not as expected but the taste is close. I would give it a 4 stars on taste, but it is sooo easy to make. The ingredients that are dropped out makes it possible to make it with pantry staples ( leaving out the bean sprouts). This is going I'm my recipe box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This recipe is incredible. I omitted the fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Rabon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yosemite National Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
As written, I would give the recipe 4 stars. As others wrote, it needed more sauce, but the basic flavor was great. I used a 16 oz. package of noodles, soaked them in hot tap water for about 10 minutes and drained. I ended up quadrupling the recipe for the sauce, though I only doubled the red pepper flakes. The store was out of fresh bean sprouts so I used canned, but would use fresh next time. I served ours without the green onions because we don't like them, and used lime wedges for garnish and flavor instead of lemon. We really liked this and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
love the recipe but need to quadruple the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Well I didn't like but not through fault of the recipe, I think I bought the wrong noodles and messed everything up from there. I will probably not attempt it again, the taste however was spot on, the consistency looked odd unfortunately...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States