Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Excellent with some doctoring. My fiance was stationed near Thailand when he was in the Navy and craves anything Thai. I spent the extra money (I didn't have) to purchase all the ingredients to make this & it was well worth it. I subbed Peanut oil for the vegetable oil and added 2 T Sriracha instead of red pepper flakes (because that's how he had ate it in Thailand) and 2 tsp of fresh garlic and some chives as a personal preference along with a few dashes of chili powder since he claims that in Thailand they ground red chilies and add them in. I also added shrimp along with the chicken for extra oomph. After lots of prepping time, it all came together nicely and tasted delicious. My fiance said that it needs more heat, but it was the perfect heat index for me (being a wimp, I guess). I should also add that upon completion, he asked me where was the cilantro? Luckily, we have some growing in our garden because "Mr. Thailand" had to have this traditionally. Now I can make this again since I have all the ingredients on hand. Thank you for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connorsmommy83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: East Troy, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
FWIW: I'm reviewing only this recipe, not a laundry list of personal deviations from it. Not sure how "traditional" this can be, given the absence of lime, tamarind, galangal, palm sugar and pickled veg. The sweet funk of dried shrimp (whole/chopped/powdered) is sorely missed, and the fish sauce is hardly an adequate substitute. The high meat/noodle ratio is more typical of Americanized renditions. The result was fairly bland and had too little sauce. Given its shortcomings, I will probably start from a different base, possibly a composite, before developing a more personalized recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnoccatore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Love this recipe! I added shrimp with the chicken, hoisin sauce 1/3c, soy sauce 1/3c, 2 TBS vinegar, only 1 TBS fish sauce and sautéed yellow onion instead of green onions. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorie Fuller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by seasha
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Used shrimp instead of chicken and added chunky peanut butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seasha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I love Pad Thai so when I first made this I hoped it would be as good as my favorite restaurant... it was delicious! I subbed tofu for the chicken and left out the sprouts but added a little chopped greens for some nutritional value. I think I added a little sriracha too. Couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Made this last weekend and it was great. Not so heavy. I would double the sauce next time. Used one full box of noodles. I also used brown sugar instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna VanSantford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Orting, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sm2jones
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I tripled the sauce ingredients and it was amazing. I won't be paying for pad Thai again! It also gave me the opportunity to make it mild for my boys. I added Siracha for myself. Oh I didn't have white wine vinegar so I used red. I cannot wait for leftovers tomorrow. Made a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
The noodles shouldn't have been put in cold water. This made them chewy and weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Glad I read all the reviews. I quadrupled the sauce recipe and it wasn't enough and I didn't use all the noodles. I also had bought a jar of hot chili paste sauce in the Asian food section, used that instead of dried chili peppers. I also added 2 Tbs peanut butter to the sauce. I thought it was quite good, spicy with the paste. I added fresh mushrooms and will add pea pods next time. I forgot to add the eggs! I am going to make another double batch of sauce to pour over the leftovers. My husband was quite impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PBE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Has a subtle, interesting taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States