Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I am a Thai person, born and raised, and I am appalled to see this recipe. Sorry I have to be so blunt and I don't mean to be rude, but as a Thai person, I cannot bare to see butter in a Thai recipe. Butter is a western ingredient that has a flavor profile that won't go with the fish sauce and several other Thai ingredients in a million years. I don't know if I would make a great cook, but I am a foodie who grew up watching my mom cooked good Thai food to feed the whole family for years. I might not know the exact measurements of the ingredients, but I do know that at the very least, the flavor of Pad Thai should come from a combination of tamarind, fish sauce and palm sugar. Understandably, it might be hard to find those ingredients at a regular grocery store (although those three things can be found in most Asian markets), and some adjustments might be needed, I am sad to say that white wine vinegar and regular white sugar certainly can not be substituted for those originals. Totally agree with somebody who said it "tasted like an unfinished take on Pad Thai." And oh, I can say with a certainty that the friend's mother who gave this recipe is not a Thai person either. Eventhough it didn't say quite as much, I think that info in the intro is kind of misleading. If you are not going to listen to the comments from the folks who know what Pad Thai should taste like, at least take it from a real Thai person like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Easy and tastes really good! I doubled vinegar and fish sauce with 2 tbs sugar and seemed perfect to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Great recipe, however I modified it based on the reviews of others. I doubled the sauce (white wine vinegar, fish sauce and sugar). However the next time I will probably 2.5 the sauce maybe even triple. I also cooked the chicken in olive oil with 4 cloves of garlic. I added cilantro (coriander), peanuts and lime (instead of lemon) just before serving. I doubled the green onions. The green onions should be added with the cilantro/peanut/lime as it has the tendency of welting with the heat. Does not look like your average Pad Thai, but the taste is fresh and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
**This pad thai recipe is way off** We salvaged our ruined dish by adding a ton of Hawaiian BBQ sauce at the end because we didn't want to throw away the food! Our noodles were so hard & eggs way over cooked. >:-/ We suffered through & ate it anyway. I was so ticked off. We tried the dish again & made the following corrections: First, you gotta soak your noodles in HOT water to get them softened. Second, you gotta fry your noodles in the pan first before the eggs, otherwise the eggs are completely over cooked by the time you are done. Third, do "something" with your chicken the way YOU like it (spicy/sweet/whatever) otherwise you get plain, buttered, browned chicken meat... we added Sambal Oelek to ours as it browned - Mmm - Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shumail
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Very good recipe. The reason I took away a star is because I did have to sauté some onion and garlic at the star and I did add 1.5 Tbs of Tamarind Paste and a shot of sesame oil. Would definitely add it to my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shumail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
bland, bland,bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Very good! I read a lot of reviews beforehand, and incorporated this advice: Doubling the sauce, Rice vinegar instead of white wine, 1 tbsp peanut butter, 2 tbsp lime juice,3 cloves of garlic. I found that although many reviewers said 4 eggs were too much, it was just right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I followed some of the tips from other users and used 3/4 tsp peanut butter for the sauce and I doubled the sauce. I also used lime instead of lemon and sauted my chicken in garlic. The dish tasted fantastic but just a little on the dry side. My friends gobbled this up though. I'm definitely making this again instead of ordering out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Not much flavor. Added extra vinegar made a bit better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States