Pad Kee Mao Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
The flavor is decent, but it is missing egg, which is in every Pad Kee Mao dish I've ever had. Our local restaurant also uses mushrooms and bamboo shoots in their dish, which might not be "authentic" but I love. Overall, this was pretty good, but I'm going to try it again with an egg for sure, mushrooms and bamboo shoots, possibly in place of the bean sprouts. I'm also going to try replacing some or all of the serrano pepper with chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Needs more thick soy sauce but other than that, this tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Good recipe, though I prefer to leave out the sugar, use fish sauce instead of salt and THAI-basil leaves instead of the common basil leaves. The serrano pepper is only there to give the dish a rich and spicy taste, but should not be eaten, unless you like a very spicy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xonicc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This has become a "go-to" dish for nights that I just don't feel like cooking but don't want to go out either. Its so quick and easy and adaptable to whatever is on hand. We have experimented with many different shapes/sizes of rice noodle and really love using a vietnamese noodle that is fat and sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Awesome!! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly, and found it rather bland. I was disappointed because Pad Kee Mao is one of my favorite Thai dishes, but this is nothing like what we get at our local restaurant. The basic ingredients are there, but the sauce is wrong. It doesn't taste like much... just a little salt flavor. Plus, I couldn't even taste the spice from one serrano pepper. I will try making this again, but will play around with marinating the meat and finding the right sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I thought it was just alright, but dbf thought it was great. Pork turned out pretty salty, next time I might leave out or halve the salt in step 3. For thick soy sauce I used 1 t. soy sauce and 1 t. brown sugar; I know it's not the same but I am hurting for cash right now! Just for the record, when I stumble home from the club, a recipe this complicated is NOT what I would come up with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I made my way to the Asian market for thick soy sauce and it was a worthwhile trip. Prepared as directed this recipe was excellent. I was concerned about a lack of moisture and was plotting what I would add to fix it, but no fix was needed. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I gave it 4 stars for being the only drunken noodles recipe on here and for not having any crazy hard to find ingredients. I did what everyone said to make thick soy sauce with molasses and soy sauce but the recipe definitely needed more sauce. it also needed something to spice it up more. I added the thai chili sauce but just a little. I also added a red pepper for some more color. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This was a fast and easy to put together, filling, tasty meal. I didn't use the wide noodles, because the thin was what I had. Also added a few veggies that needed to be used up such as a carrot, a couple of small red and yellow peppers and a few mushrooms. I also reversed the directions and cooked the veggies and meat prior to the noodles. The sauce was wonderful. I didn't feel the dish was hot at all and could have had more peppers added to it, but for my daughter, it was perfect so based on that, if you want more heat you can always add more to individual plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States