Pablito's Chicken Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I live in Friday Harbor and I know what a treat it is to dine at Pablito's. Everything there is made from scratch and is amazing. How wonderful to have a recipe to try at home. Thanks Paul for sharing this great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Great recipe, i only used half a lime and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
definitely will be making this again, probably for guests next time! I typically don't post reviews when I've altered the recipe, but because I think these alterations will make this recipe more accessible to more cooks I am going to share them. 1st, Sorrel: Nowhere to be found where I live, so googled possible substitutions. The recommended substitution was spinach and a little lemon juice. Since the recipe already called for a significant amount of lime juice, I opted for spinach, the called for lime juice, and the zest off half the lime. The sauce was DELICIOUS. It will definitely be making multiple appearances at our table. 2nd: letting the tortilla dough rest an hour. I was surprised that the recipe didn't call for hot water to mix the dough which is definitely a very traditional part of making tortillas. So, I heated my water to boiling before adding it and the melted butter to the flour mix. This meant I didn't need to let the dough rest, it was ready to make into tortillas as soon as I had it portioned out. That said, this became a very quickly moving recipe at that point. So, if you want to take your time in the kitchen preparing the chicken, onions, and kale, no reason why not to just follow the original instructions and let the dough rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
When my husband goes back for a fourth helping, then you know its great food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Fabulous! I couldn't find sorrel either, so I used cilantro. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Huge
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This is really great- you don't even taste the kale (which is a plus for me) - and We have never used the sorrel becuase we haven't found it in our store...don't even know what it tastes like. But it's still delicious! The home made tortillas are completely worth the effort if you pick up a tortilla press. We freeze half of the tortillas (put some parchment between each one) and make it again in a few weeks...so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronxville, New York, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
(partial review for now) LOVED THIS!!! Will make again often!!! And, let me add, I will never ever buy store bought tortillas again. These were sooooo good and very easy to make. I made them ahead of time and as they were coming out of the pan me and the kids drizzled a few with honey, cinnamon and sugar and scarfed those bad boys down. TASTY. I used near boiling hot water and made them right away as I was in a hurry. They turned out just fine. For the white sauce I sub'd Fage brand greek yogurt 2% because I sub that for sour cream in almost everything. I also added lime zest to it. White sauce was delectable on everything, even the refried beans and 'Spanish Rice Original' (another bomb recipe from this site). Because...I make everything more complicated than need be lol, I used the chicken recipe from Goya on this site 'Shredded Chicken tacos' and it was great. I plan to use this chicken next time because I love kale. No sensible reason why I didn't use it this time. I used Maseca for the tortillas. Will update when I make the chicken =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kurlyy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I live in Bellingham, WA. I grow sorrel in an oak barrel. It comes back every year; very easy plant to grow. I am so glad to see another way to use it and now I will have to visit Pablito's on Friday Harbor, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I would have never thought to put kale in a taco. Delicious. I marinated the kale in Trader Joes Tahini sauce and it added a little extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Lime Chicken Soft Tacos

Check out these lime flavored chicken soft tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States