Ozarks Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I really enjoyed this potato salad, such a different flavor. I do love Miracle Whip, only with certain foods, never thought of potatoes though. Only change I made was to add an extra egg, otherwise made as written. This is a very nice change from the basic mayo based salad. It's sweet yet savory and is really nice. Thanks, I will use this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I LOVE this recipe. I've been looking high and low for a perfect tater salad recipe and this one is absolutely perfect. My family prefers dill potato salad, my husband prefers sweet salad. I modified this for my husband and added sweet gherkins, 1/4 C sugar and some celery seed. For my family, I added garlic salt and dill pickles. Both batches were devoured. This is an absolutely perfect base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWOHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This is a wonderful potato salad recipe. The entire family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I chose this recipe because it is very similar to the one my mom makes and everyone raves about. She just eyeballs the measurements of everything and I have a hard time with that. The only difference is I didn't use onion and I chopped dill pickles to go in it. I also russett instead of red potatoes. I'll try the red next time. It was so creamy. It was delicious! My hubby said it's the best potato salad he's had. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I've made this recipe for years but with my own twist. I add diced onion & celery and mix the Miracle Whip with Ranch Dressing. Everyone loves this and its great for get-togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Grosvenordale, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This is exactly what my mother made during the 50's and to the present. Make sure your potatoes are fork tender, I boil them with the skins on and use brand name Miracle whip, regular yellow mustard, and sweet Vidalia - or dry minced onion and plenty of salt and pepper makes this taste good. Best when made the day before you plan to serve it so the flavors really meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Thank you for your Ozarks Potato Salad!!! My Mom & Dad are both from Arkansas & I couldn't find my Mom's recipe!! I could eat this by the pounds LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brendini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I've been making this recipe for years. My husband wasn't fussy on the 'store bought' version so I looked at it and said hey, I can do that. I add a grated carrot and 2 stalks of chopped celery to mine and peel my potatoes prior to boiling them. I also use chopped green onions but have made it with a regular cooking onion as well when I didn't have any green ones on hand. I haven't tried adding the prepared mustard but will the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
We had been invited to a cook out at a friends house and I was looking for a great potato salad to take with me. As I live in North Arkansas, I saw this recipe and thought it would be perfect! I added some garlic powder and paprika as suggested in other reviews and I used mayonnaise rather than miracle whip, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly as it was written. It was very easy to make and didn't take too long. I made it the day before as recommended by someone else, and it was delicious. It was a hit at the cook out and my daughter has pleaded with me to make another batch. It was lovely and creamy with a very nice flavor, not overpowering at all. I will definitely be making this regularly, much to my daughter's delight....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
What a great recipe-reminds me of what my mom made in the 60s-looks so good-will be making soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States