Ozarks Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I needed something simple--this fit me well for both time and money. I cut this recipe in half. Because I don't use Miracle Whip, I substituted in Hellman's mayonnaise. Besides a few seasonings (onion powder, garlic powder, fresh ground pepper, little hot sauce), I kept to the recipe. Out of the whole bowl, only one serving remains. My husband ate three helpings. My son did say that this would be perfect if you added in pickles--I think he's right. NOTE: From start to finish, this recipe took me less than a half hour to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This is exactly what my mother made during the 50's and to the present. Make sure your potatoes are fork tender, I boil them with the skins on and use brand name Miracle whip, regular yellow mustard, and sweet Vidalia - or dry minced onion and plenty of salt and pepper makes this taste good. Best when made the day before you plan to serve it so the flavors really meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I LOVE this recipe. I've been looking high and low for a perfect tater salad recipe and this one is absolutely perfect. My family prefers dill potato salad, my husband prefers sweet salad. I modified this for my husband and added sweet gherkins, 1/4 C sugar and some celery seed. For my family, I added garlic salt and dill pickles. Both batches were devoured. This is an absolutely perfect base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWOHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
easy way to get some decent potato salad without cracking any eggs. I added celery, relish and some minced garlic. Its plain otherwise. Might want to half this one unless you want a gallon of potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is good back lacking something, so I added al little bit of sweet pickle relish and paprika and tasted better. I also put a little chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I chose this recipe because it is very similar to the one my mom makes and everyone raves about. She just eyeballs the measurements of everything and I have a hard time with that. The only difference is I didn't use onion and I chopped dill pickles to go in it. I also russett instead of red potatoes. I'll try the red next time. It was so creamy. It was delicious! My hubby said it's the best potato salad he's had. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I've made this recipe for years but with my own twist. I add diced onion & celery and mix the Miracle Whip with Ranch Dressing. Everyone loves this and its great for get-togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Grosvenordale, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I really enjoyed this potato salad, such a different flavor. I do love Miracle Whip, only with certain foods, never thought of potatoes though. Only change I made was to add an extra egg, otherwise made as written. This is a very nice change from the basic mayo based salad. It's sweet yet savory and is really nice. Thanks, I will use this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This is a wonderful potato salad recipe. The entire family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Thank you for your Ozarks Potato Salad!!! My Mom & Dad are both from Arkansas & I couldn't find my Mom's recipe!! I could eat this by the pounds LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brendini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States