Oysters Rockefeller Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
My husband has had me searching everywhere for a recipe for Oysters Rockefller that tastes like the ones he gets at The Parson's Table (his favorite "fancy" restaurant). He said this is it! The recipe is super simple, the longest part of preparation is opening the oysters! He ate 6 & we froze the other 18 in three zip-loc bags. Next time, we'll just get them out of the freezer, sprinkle a few more breadcrumbs & grated cheese on top, then pop into the oven! Wonderful! Robin Weiss in NC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Genoa, Ohio, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cocoakay
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This is an amazing recipe. Perfect in everyway. I used "Pernod" that I bought to cook food from recipes I got on a cruise ship.(27.00 a bottle) I was thrilled I had this anise flavored alcohol for this recipe. I had everything on the recipe but oysters in the shell. I used a glass of fesh oysters from Costco.I cooked the oysters in a frying pan with olive oil and garlic than cooked spinach in sauce left in the pan. I want to try shell oysters next. I first had Oyster Rockefller at Jake's Fish House in Portland, Oregon. This recipe is just as good and a whole lot cheaper. I would not change a thing but I would not use my Vita Mix blender next time since it made the mixture soupy. I will use my small Cuisnart to just chop the mix..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Followed the recipe and they came out really good. Added a pinch of jack cheese on the top melted in well. Will have these again.They were easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
LOVE it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jammin_cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
really good recipe. i had already shucked oysters but sauteed the spinach and green onions in the bacon grease then stirred in the bread crumbs and parmesan cheese. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scheungjones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
My boyfriend just returned from a fishing trip to B.C. He brought back oysters knowing how much I love seafood. But not too many as he wasn't sure if he was going to like them. Sweet as he is ...but safe. LOL!! We brought up a recipe on our favorite site...All Recipes and came up with this one. Oh was he sceptical. He let me do my thing and I followed the recipe to a T. They were super easy to open. (though my food processor was at my place. Had to use the blender and it did puree. Not to worry...still fantastic) We both decided it was a $50+ meal in some fancy restaurant. He says he will catch a lot more next time. we like the other reviewer's advice of freezing them. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeitfresh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
As a new, younger cook I was a bit nervous to make these but have made these the past two christmas eves. My family enjoys them so much that I've created a new christmas eve tradition and a good cooking reputation for myself! I do also add a bit of cheese to the top before broiling. The crispy bacon makes it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Perfection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I used this recipe for New Year Eve with couples for good luck in the aphrodisiac department for the upcoming year. It was fantastic! The toppings were sooo good just by themselves! I added a tiny bit of gorgonzola on top just before broiling which we loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gg810

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake View, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
We made these with fresh oysters from Chincoteague Island. Loved them! They were a little time-consuming, but worth it! I used a bigger than normal dash of hot sauce, but that's because I really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

How to Make Scalloped Oysters

See how to make a creamy, decadent oyster side dish for special occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States